Lagavulin Distillery, Isle of Islay, Scotland

Scroll down to content

dsc_0229

Lagavulin is my favourite distillery on the Isle of Islay, off the west coast of Scotland, as there is a castle located behind it.  We were doing our Whisky Distillery whirl wind tour, in May 2016, to see if we could visit all eight distilleries on Islay and the one on Jura.  We went to the Whisky Festival on Jura, but the rest were just quick trips, to see if we could, we did all but one, Bunnahabhain, which was having it’s own festival and you couldn’t get near it.  It was a lovely surprise for me that there was a castle, not that I had time to explore it, but it will wait until May and then hopefully I can take some photos.  But I also liked the interior, well the part you can take photos, it still retains an old world feel, there’s a lovely sitting room that you can sit and taste their whisky.   

dsc_0240
Situated in a small bay near the south coast of Islay near the ruins of Dunyveg Castle, Lagavulin Distillery is thought to be one of the longest established distilleries in the country. Distilling on the site took place as early as 1742 and by the late 18th century there were up to 10 illicit still operating in the area. In 1882 the remaining two amalgamated to form Lagavulin.

11 Replies to “Lagavulin Distillery, Isle of Islay, Scotland”

    1. Ha ha I see what you mean about the castle, yes it does looks like a piece of jigsaw. Yes I like stove and I liked that there was a 1/2 barrel next to it for logs, oh well I guess they have plenty 🙂

    1. Its a beautiful island in the spring and summer 🙂 not sure at the moment of how much storm Doris did to them, quite a lot I should think. Got a bit hairy here and we just got the tail end of her.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.