Tenby Castle, Wales

To the despair of my poor long suffering husband, I collect non fiction books.   So when visiting Wales or Scotland I trawl the bookshops in the hope of a book on which ever county or country we happen to be in, which might have escaped my notice, this includes charity shops……where you can find some lovely old books.  I have a cupboard in our motor home that is especially for these books…..out of sight, out of husband’s mind.  On this trip to Wales I did find one book that I didn’t have ‘Castles In Wales’ a handbook by Gerald Morgan……this became attached to me, I went nowhere with out it.  This wonderful little book is a pocket guide to the Castles of Wales, plus photos, plus earthworks and lost castles…..everything a discerning castle hunter needs in one little book.

Now the only thing is, it didn’t have a lot to say about Tenby Castle, for one reason theres not a lot left.  The remains of the castle are on Castle Hill, an unknown Norman built the castle in 1156 and all that remains are the stump of a gate tower, part of a barbican and a small tower that is one half square and the other round.  But the views from Castle Hill are speculator and there is a lovely walk around the hill, but it is quite steep, but well worth it.

From our visit September 2014.

4 comments

  1. Tenby is so pretty! And the castle looks very fine, too, although not much left, as you say. I have never been there, so it was nice to see. I think I have that book on Welsh Castles! Although I am not sure where it is now. A lovely set of photos. Glad that it stopped raining for you in the end!

    1. We had never been to Tenby and I didn’t realises that it was such a pretty place, will certainly be going back next year. Glad you liked the visit and the book is just the right size to carry around 🙂

Leave a Reply

