1940’s Christmas Tree, Oxburgh Hall, Norfolk

DSC_0374

Last year we visited Oxburgh Hall in Norfolk for their ‘Christmas Through The Ages’.  I didn’t post about it last year as Holkham Hall took centre stage, so this year is all about Oxburgh Hall throughout December.  Starting with one of my favourites, the ‘Christmas Tree’, in fact there are quite a few trees dressed for different periods.  I think this one is set in the 1940’s, with the brown wrapping paper and paper cut out Christmas decorations.

I have added a photo of the Hall so you see what a wonderful house it would be to spend Christmas in.

DSC_0351

December 2013

6 comments

  1. They are both wonderful houses. We visited Holkham Hall in June and it was a fabulous house and the gardens were heavenly. We went to Oxburgh Hall in September 2013 and it was wonderful too and in a fine setting. I particularly liked the moat and the priest hide hole!

    1. Yes Stephen they are wonderful houses, we are very lucky in Norfolk to have some really beautiful houses. I’m just trying to decide which house to visit this Christmas, to post for next year 🙂

      1. Blickling is my favourite that I have been to in Norfolk (3 times so far). It’s beautiful and with perfect gardens and the front that looks over the meadow. Then there is the church next door and the old National Trust pub. It’s one of my top 3 or 4 in Britain.

      2. Good idea, a beautiful house, I will check and see if they are doing anything for Christmas. You must visit lots of lovely houses with visitors……lucky you. I hope its building up, it seems to be 🙂

Leave a Reply

