Bressingham Hall & Gardens, Bressingham Garden Centre, Norfolk

On our visit to Bressingham Garden Centre in Norfolk to have a look at the steam trains for my husband,  I got to look at the gardens and found Bressingham Hall a Georgian Mansion built 1760.  The Hall sits centrally on the site and overlooks the original Island Beds of perennials created by Alan Bloom in 1953, and was Alan Bloom and his family’s home.  You can stay in the Hall, for B & B, which was originally built as a farmhouse,  At the time of our visit in August 2015 the Hall and barns were having a major overhaul.

 In this 17 acre garden there are more than 8000 species and cultivars of perennials, grasses, shrubs, trees, conifers, ferns and bulbs to enjoy, some gorgeous river planting and sculpted conifers too.  I must admit it did make me want to redesign my garden and we came away with lots of ideas for next year.

August 2015

10 comments

  1. That is incredible! Even before I read your words I was surprised at the variety in the photos. Which are great! Wouldn’t it be something if you could walk through the gardens with Mr. Bloom and hear all about the plants? Does that little building serve a purpose or is it just for interest? I’d probably be putting all my tools in there. 🙂

    1. It was a great garden centre when Mr Bloom was alive, but now sadly it is part of a big chain. But the gardens are still looked after by the Bloom family and they take great care of the gardens, this is just a small part. I didn’t realises how big they were and ran of time. Next spring we will go back and have another look at all the bulbs. Mr Bloom was really into conifers, and I have always had a soft spot for them, but his impressed me enough that I can home and redesigned our front garden with them. The lovely little building has a seat inside that you can sit on, but I like your idea of a tool shed better 🙂 Do you enjoy gardening Pat or grubbing as my husband calls it 🙂

      1. I used to garden. Haven’t been able to for a few years. I’d started to work with native prairie plants, especially those that attract butterflies. Hope to get back to that one of these days. 🙂 Been meaning to ask you how your tent gardening worked out.

      2. Thats sounds interesting and anything that brings butterflies into the garden it good. My tent garden is wonderful, I have got potatoes growing for Christmas in a trough, hopefully they will be ok. We are still picking red and green peppers, had loads of tomatoes. Even grew my own pumpkin for Halloween, just looks like a regular one, really pleased. Had a few melons and strawberries. Hopefully we will be better at it next year and grow some different things. Its good for keeping the olive trees in over winter, I use to worry about them, but now they will be happy under cover……from our really harsh winters, well they are too us 🙂

    1. The colours were wonderful, but it was a little overcast and they could have been better. Yes that was a stoke of luck for Alan Bloom to have such a wonderful surname, when you were as passionate as gardening as he was 🙂

  2. Great photos of a beautiful garden–especially compared to rain and 40 degrees (what we have now). it was good to see such color and plant combinations.

    1. We are having a lovely October at the moment, lots of sunshine and really warm, but apparently we are going to have a very bad winter……well thats what they say. The garden is beautiful, I haven’t really caught its true beauty, it was overcast and late in the afternoon, but we will go back in the spring for the bulbs 🙂

  3. Very nice images. You mentioned in your bio page you ‘re not really a photographer. You have a good eye for composition and the sensibility of a photojournalist. I perceive you as a photographer. 😀

    1. Thank you for your lovely comment and from someone who takes really amazing photos, I might be tempted to call myself a photographer, I like the idea of a photojournalist, I really just love to capture little bits of time and to record the interesting places we visit, which luckily other people seem to enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

