Perfection, or Not

DSC_0664

I’m still sorting through photos and coming across lots of forgotten memories.  This beautiful swan was on the river at St Ives in Cambridgeshire and coming across the photo now, I was suddenly struck how perfect it is.  In fact all swans are perfect, I haven’t come across one that wasn’t.  But not that perfect in the true sense, as a child, we lived near a large lake in Portsmouth, that most of the time had a swan population.  Beautiful they might be, but temper wise……lets just say you wouldn’t want to cuddle one, as I found out at the age of four.  I think it was hungry 🙂 my mother was pulling me one way and the swan had hold of the other arm….. luckily my mum won, but I will always remember how hard a swans beak is.  Lets just say, I always give them a wide berth 🙂

6 comments

  1. I’ve heard that about swans, don’t think I’d like to take one on. I had a turkey come at me once, but I was in my teens at the time. I ran. 🙂

    1. They are really protective when they have eggs on the nest, they can really be nasty and they hiss at you at the best of times. We have lots around us in the Fens, because of all the water, I love taking photos of them, but thats all. Funny you say that about the Turkey, we used to keep one in the garden each year for Christmas and would have to race it to the outside toilet, horrible things they were 🙂

  2. My sis had same encounters, aged 4 a swan got hold of her hair through open car window and pulled hard…and another a few years later put its neck and head up beside pontoon on Norfolk Broads and whipped her ice-cream straight out of her hand, gulping it down in one! She gives them a wide berth too.

  3. Absolutely beautiful, Lynne. I do know that swans can be aggressive. I’m perhaps lucky that I’m not as scared of them as most people, having grown up with all kinds of fowl, some of which could be quite vicious. But if you were attacked by one as a kid I can imagine that would make you a bit wary for the rest of your life!

Leave a Reply

