Beside The Sea

Back Camera

I love old black & white postcards and the thought that someone went around the UK taking photos of places that some people had never heard of, let alone visited.  In days before the car was common place and most travelling was done via steam trains puffing up and down the countryside, someone was out there tugging around great cameras.  I have to thank them, as in some posts I like to add some early before images, especially if a building or a view has changed considerably.  But its easy now, with the aid of a car, lightweight cameras and not forgetting phones, that so many people use now.  Which brings me to the fact that I have nearly come to the end of sorting through my old iPhone photos and I realise that those old black and white postcards did and do have an effect on the way that I take photos.  I just wonder what makes other people, take the images that they take.

Below are just some of the postcard type photos that I shot of the Welsh coastline in 2010, which were taken with my old iPhone, plus a couple of shadows 🙂

Back Camera

Back Camera

Back Camera

Back Camera

Lynne 9 1077

 

Back Camera

 

Back Camera

 

 

 

6 comments

  1. Isn’t it amazing how good things can look in black and white! Love these. I should play around with some of our photos to see how they’d look. The fellows who lugged those big cameras and the equipment around the American west always amazed me. Do keep using black and white. And congratulations on having accomplished your monumental task. 🙂

    1. Thanks Pat, I must google and have a look at some of those old photos. Just a quick update on Katie, she had to have another operation this afternoon, as she got a really bad infection, but they were pleased with the results, so she should now start to get better 🙂

      1. Poor girl! That’s pretty miserable. Sometimes a little bit is hard to see. It has to get bigger so they can find it. That should be the end of it. Thanks for letting me know. 🙂

    1. Thank you Jo, thats all I use to take my photos with, so I had a lot of practice with it. But I do prefer my Nikon, as I could never really zoom in quite right with the phone 🙂

Leave a Reply

