Scarborough Castle, Yorkshire

I have come to the concision that this is as close, that I’m going to get to Scarborough Castle for a while, the reason, is that by the time we arrive it is always later afternoon, early evening, as you can tell by theses photos.  We stop on our way through for fish and chips, with a short walk along the sea front.  I actually like the views you get of the castle as you come along the bay, and then from the harbour side.  It must have been one huge castle and hopefully one day I will visit, but for now these glimpses will have to make do.

A little history for you…..the castle was built in the reign of King Stephen, by William le Gros; Earl of Albemarle and Holderness. Fortifications for a wooden castle were built in the 1130s, but the present stone castle dates from the 1150s.  Site of the castle, encompassing the Iron Age settlement, Roman signal station, an Anglo-Scandinavian settlement and chapel, the 12th-century enclosure castle and 18th-century battery are now cared by English Heritage.  The castle has been in ruins since the sieges of the English Civil War, but there seems a lot to explore……so we might just arrive earlier on our next visit.

16 comments

  1. It certainly looks well worth a visit Lynne 🙂 I have very vague recollections of Scarborough, from a holiday with my parents when I was about 5 or 6. I think the castle was quite good, from a child’s perspective that is! Lol!! I love the photo of the harbour and sea front, Scarborough looks like a pretty working sea port – so many harbours nowadays just have yachts and the such like in them 😦

    1. My first visit was about the same age 🙂 but we had a picnic on the beach, one of those with all the family, grandparents, aunts, uncles and cousins, plus friends. I remember seeing the castle from a far, but what stuck in my head was the huge hotel on the sea front, it just seemed huge and of course it is. I am going to do a postcard type post tomorrow on some of the harbour etc……if things go to plan 🙂 And yes its lovely to see a proper working harbour 🙂

      1. That must have been an amazing picnic Lynne 🙂
        It seems to me that families don’t seem to do that sort of thing now, I bet even in the middle of summer you don’t get that many people on Scarborough beach any more 😦 I’m not surprised you mainly remember the grand hotel on the seafront, it seems like most Victorian seaside resorts had one! 🙂
        I’ll look forward to seeing more of the town tomorrow, or sometime soon 🙂 🙂

      2. I think you are right Andy, you rarely see whole families together, anywhere anymore. My mothers parents had a car, and my grandmother always kept a kettle and stove in the boot, so she could have tea wherever we ended up. Neither of my parents drove, so we were very lucky that my grandfather did, he used take us all over the place….. he could be the reason I like to visit places 🙂

      3. How would you compare Scarborough to Whitby? I’ve been to Whitby several times, and love the place. But I’ve never visited here.

      4. They are really quite different, Whitby is unique, I also love it. Scarborough is more a seaside town, but it does have a wonderful bay with the castle, similar to Whitby, but if I am being honest, its not as striking as Whitby, but it is worth a visit if you are passing, its still a Victorian seaside town 🙂

      5. It sounds like you had some amazing grandparents Lynne, I guess it’s certainly a factor in why you like visiting new places 🙂
        Wow………you are really bringing back some memories, I’d forgotten that many folk in the 1950’s to 1970’s used to carry a wee kettle and stove for a brew up, that is so much nicer than having to find a cafe for a cup of tea – or maybe that’s just my tight Cornish side of me coming out! LOL! 🙂

      6. Its only when you think back Andy, that you appreciate how amazing they were and on so little money, but they never seem to go with out. I think I must have some Cornish blood in me, when we are on holiday I always take a flash out with us, hate to be caught somewhere and not be able to have a hot drink…..just like my grandmother, bless her 🙂

  2. Looks truly beautiful. Thanks a lot for the trip report! The UK is such a great country for traveling around and finding some beautiful spots like this castle 🙂

  3. One place I’ve never been to, Lynne, and it looks very interesting. I don’t know many of the English castles, apart from a handful. What a commanding spot they chose for this one! I bet the views are amazing.

    1. Yes I really must visit it, just to see the views, I think it would have looked a little bit like Dover Castle, overlooking the cliffs, thats one I still have to visit, seen it it a lot from a distance 🙂 I have been visiting a few castle recently that only have the motte left, some have a few moats around them, but I just find them quite fascinating, just to imagine what it would have been like, all the bustle of times gone past and now just an empty field, it that. I am going to try and make an effort this year to try and post some more castle, and all the rest, not enough time 🙂

Leave a Reply

