John O’Groats Mill, Caithness, Scotland

DSC_0752 - Version 2

I am still sorting photos and I keep coming across photos that I have taken from the car window, husband driving not me.  I will take a shot of anything that looks remotely interesting and hopefully I can investigate it later.  I am way behind with some Scottish photos of 2014, lots of castles and bits of ruins taken from a distance.

This wonderful building is ‘John O’Groats Mill’ in Caithness, Scotland.

The Mill was originally built as a threshing mill in 1750 and was rebuilt in 1901 as a corn mill. Between the 16th and 19th centuries, Caithness was known for its corn production and exported meal to ports across Scotland and the rest of Europe. The site is a key example of industrial heritage in the area and is believed to be the last mill in Caithness to retain its working machinery.

DSC_0945 - Version 2

3 comments

Leave a Reply

