The Last Views of South Uist, Outer Hebrides, Scotland

DSC_0397

Just a few last photos of the Isle of South Uist from our holiday in 2014 travelling through the Outer Hebrides.  In the last photo you will see the remains of Flora McDonalds birth place.  Flora saved Bonnie Prince Charlie, by dressing him as a woman, Betty Burke, and escaping in a boat to France.

We then made our way to North Uist, by way of causeways linking smaller Islands together, which in the past, would have to have been crossed by boats.  Hopefully I will post about the next part of the trip….only two years late 🙂

DSC_0483_2

DSC_0498

DSC_0379

DSC_0384

DSC_0385

DSC_0396

DSC_0423

DSC_0376

9 comments

    1. Oh Pat, I would think in the winter it could a very harsh environment, not a lot to stop the weather coming in from the Atlantic Ocean….makes me cold even thinking about it…LOL you would be ok 🙂

      1. LOL! It may be cold here, but we don’t get that kind of wind. That would be much worse! I have been in Chicago when the wind was coming off the lake and it literally takes your breath away. I’m quite happy in my prairie town. We get some good winds, but not like that! 🙂

      2. Ha Ha, oh we get some really bad cold winds, just makes everything that much colder. LOL. I’ve been in Chicago, when I found it too hot to breath 🙂 From one extreme to another 🙂

  1. A lot of the houses have their windows and doorways set in … I wonder if that is to keep the wind from creeping,or should I say blasting its way into the house?

    1. Jo, both South and North Uist and the islands in between and not forgetting Barra, are wonderful, they really get under you skin, I didn’t want to leave. The people are so friendly and its such a wonderful way of life if you can live there. They all have the feeling of Iona, that wonderful peacefulness that hits you when you come off the ferry…..you know what I mean 🙂 You have to go and visit one day 🙂 Still lots of post to do.

Leave a Reply

