Ardchattan Kirk, Loch Etive, Scotland

DSC_0143

On holiday in Scotland 2013, we paid a visit to Ardchttan Priory and gardens.  Ardchattan is on the shores of Loch Etive and unfortunately the day we had chosen to visit, was very misty.  This was lovely for taking shots of the loch, but not so good for the Priory and gardens.  I have posted about those two visits, but as I am still sorting photos, I came across some photos of Ardchattan Kirk, that I had forgotten to post.  I didn’t have time to explore the interior, so I just took a couple of shots of the outside of church.  Having looked up the church, its was a shame I didn’t take a peek, as it has a long communal table and there are only four in Scotland.  I have seen one on South Uist in the Outer Hebrides, so I will have to see if I can find the other two.

DSC_0144

A little about the Kirk…….It was opened on Sunday, September 17th, 1836, replacing an earlier building on a site near Ardchattan Priory. This new site at Achnaba was given by General Campbell of Lochnell, the Laird of one of the three largest estates in the Parish.  The church building has remained relatively unchanged since its construction and unusually retains much of its original character. The horseshoe shaped gallery is supported on cast iron columns. The pews on the east side are original and some contain the wooden pegs used by the men to keep their hats on during the service. The long central communion table, once a common feature of Scottish churches, is thought to be now one of only four remaining in use today.

DSC_0145

DSC_0151

DSC_0152

DSC_0155

This is one of the views that the church looks out over the loch, I have posted this before, but I quite like it and it shows you how beautiful the loch is.

10 comments

  1. I really love that first shot, I’d gladly hang it on my wall! 🙂 I hope you get back some time, the inside sounds incredible.

    1. Thank you Pat, I’m really pleased that you like the first shot, its amazing really, as its out in the middle of nowhere, just over looking the loch. I will try and go back as I would like to see the area minus mist 🙂

  2. What a handsome facade to this kirk, Lynn, and such timeless shots of the loch: if it wasn’t too trite to say so, the last one could grace any calendar but, framed, especially a bedroom wall!

Leave a Reply

