Pontcysyllte Aqueduct, Nr Llangollen, Wales

 

Back Camera

This is the second aqueduct that we visited in 2011, while on holiday in Wales.  The first was Chirk Aqueduct, which I posted about yesterday.  Now I thought Chirk was high, but Pontcysyllte near Llangollen, was a whole new kettle of fish.  We joined the towpath on what is called the ‘Tramway’ this had been a small railway that carried goods along the canal.

Back Camera

Pontcysyllte was built a few years after Chirk, in 1805, and is the longest and highest in Britain.  The Aqueduct with the canal, was made a world Heritage Site in 2009.  Thomas Telford and William Jessop built the 19 hollow masonry 127ft high pillars, each at 53ft wide, with a cast iron trough of 5,25 ft deep and 1007ft long.  But it was the width that had my head spinning, only 11ft wide and only one hand rail, not good for someone like me……. I know I held on to that rail all the way over and I never let go.  I took the photos with my old iPhone, which thankfully I needed only one hand to use.  The view is stunning and I did manage to take some photos of it on this trip, as I regretted that I hadn’t taken any on our visit to Chirk Aqueduct.  If you get the chance to visit, go, but pick a nice sunny windless day 🙂

Back Camera

Back Camera

Back Camera

 

Back Camera

Back Camera

The items in the hand, are made up from ones that have been found along the tramway and canal.

Back Camera

Back Camera

Back Camera

Back Camera

Back Camera

In the distance you can see Chirk Aqueduct, and how small it is compared to Pontcysyllte.

Back Camera

Back Camera

Back Camera

 

Back Camera

On Holiday May 2011

 

10 comments

  1. Just as I remember, Lynne! Beautiful photos. The walkway is OK but there’s not much between the boat and the drop! Interesting to read on the sign that “a mixture of lime and ox blood’ was used to bind the stones”!

    1. Thank you Jo, as to the lime and ox blood, I didn’t want to think that was all, that was just holding the masonry together…. but I have never heard of the ox blood before either 🙂

Leave a Reply

