A Trip on the Severn Valley Railway to Bridgnorth

IMG_7350

On a very wet day in August 2012, we decided to take a trip on the Severn Valley Railway, it’s a heritage railway in Shropshire and Worcestershire and the 16-mile heritage line runs along the Severn Valley from Bridgnorth to Kidderminster.  We arrived at the Kidderminster Station and the rain was doing what it does best, pouring down.  Luckily by the time the train left the station it had decided to ease off.

Once onboard we settled down with warming cups of coffee and watched the countryside passing by, when suddenly I saw some elephants walking around, we were passing the West Midland Safari Park.  You have a great overall view of the park from the train and I should imagine the animals are used to the train by now, they seemed to be.

We arrived at Bridgnorth Station, and there is quite a long walk to the town, which is split into two, Low Town and High Town.  To reach High Town, its best to take the Cliff Railway and you get to see the stunning views.  We had a wander around the town, which was quite busy as it was market day.  We then walked back down to the station, to have a look at the trains, that we had noticed earlier.  I would like to re-visit on a sunny day, as it was very damp and overcast, not good for photos, hence they are mono, and I missed the castle, so thats a good excuse to go back.

Next stop Bridgnorth Station.

IMG_7393

8 comments

  1. Elephants! I never thought I’d see elephants on your blog. I love them. 🙂 You put a lot in this post, the train, the station, great shots of that town. It looks so charming. Nice bridge too. But you’re going to have to tell me what that ring-tailed creature is on the gentleman’s shoulders. A little large for a house cat. 🙂

    1. Really glad you enjoyed the elephants, not something you see very often from an English train 🙂 The animal is a Ring-Tailed Coati, he is a pet, but the photo before that one, which didn’t come very well, showed him with some really sharpe teeth, not sure I would have him around my neck ! The town is lovely, would like to go back and do some sunshine photos 🙂

      1. I had to look up the Coati, and was surprised to see that there are some in the southernmost parts of the US. Being that they’re relatives of the racoon, I’d give them a wide berth. Racoons can be pretty fierce! Thanks for the ID.

    1. Thanks Jo, and I would have loved to have see the Flying Scotsman, but work got in the away, I think its in York at the moment. We went to York 2 weekends ago and Harrogate last weekend, so I know what the answer would be it I said can we go to Yorkshire again 🙂

  2. Your mention of the Flying Scotsman got me curious. I’d heard of it, but didn’t know much about it. They have a wonderful site, flyingscotsman.org.uk, which has a pretty incredible photo gallery. Did you know they once had a hair dressing car? Not sure I’d want my hair cut on a moving train. 🙂 What an incredible story! Wish the US was more into this.

Leave a Reply

