Chateau-Sur-Mer, Newport, Rhode Island, USA

 

DSC_0502_2

We spent our last morning in Newport, Rhode Island, 2015, looking at the remaining Mansion Houses that we had left on our ticket from the day before.  I was determined to get my moneys worth, but again disappointed that taking photos of the interior were a no go.  I have found one photo of the interior, just so you can see a little of the great wealth theses houses display.

DSC_0504_2 - Version 2

The Castle-by-the-Sea was really one of the first of the grand Bellevue Avenue mansions of the Gilded Age in Newport.  The original estate was constructed in 1852, long before the ornate mansions of the Vanderbilt families.

DSC_0527_2

We had a guided tour, which was quite interesting, but all I kept seeing were wonderful photos of the interior I could have taken.  One thing I would have liked to have taken photos of, were some of the walls which were covered in beautifully carved wood – all the rage in the mid 1850s – including the only two rooms remaining in the entire US that were designed and carved by Florence masters, and then disassembled, brought to Chateau-sur-Mer, and reassembled.

DSC_0511_2

A little history for you………..Chateau-sur-Mer, its lodge, entrance arch, and greenhouse were built in 1851-1852 by the Newport contractor Seth C. Bradford for William Shepard Wetmore, merchant in the China trade. His son, George Peabody Wetmore, greatly enlarged the house in successive major campaigns in the 1870s and 1880s under Richard Morris Hunt, with interior decoration by Luigi Frullini. Wetmore further developed the outbuildings and grounds. His daughters, Edith and Maude Wetmore, maintained the house in proper style until their deaths. The estate was sold at auction in 1969 to The Preservation Society of Newport County.

RI-01-NE158-004

 

 

DSC_0510_2

DSC_0521_2

 

 

8 comments

  1. Great photos, Lynne! Too bad they won’t let you take pictures inside. It seems like it’s been that way at least since I was a kid in the 50s. I have no idea why.

    1. Thanks Pat, it was the same here, but the National Trust, changed their views a couple of years ago and you take photos but not to use the flash. Thats ok for me as I like to take photos without it. There are other privately owned houses that you can visit, but a lot ban photos, such a shame really. Could be to make you buy postcards and books etc. Still they have interesting exteriors 🙂

    2. I worked at a tourist attraction a few years ago that was basically a small reconstructed village that included a lot of old linens and needlework, which can be badly damaged by repeated flash photography. While I was there, I saw the photo ban rescinded to no flash photos and then put back to no photos at all. Why? Because in spite of being told once by a huge sign at the gate and once verbally while being sold their tickets, about 1 out of 7 or 8 people used their flash. Excuses ranged from “I didn’t know” to “I forgot” to my personal favorite “I don’t know how to turn it off.” (“I’m not very bright, so the rules don’t apply to me.”) The eased restrictions lasted three months before they were put back to an absolute ban again.

      1. Yeah, it is, and for no good reason, too. I’d wager 99% of people who do that don’t actually know if they need a flash or not. People who know and care about their photos usually also care about the well-being of what they photograph, in my experience.

      2. Well you are most probably right, as really the best photos taken inside are taken with out the flash, the photos are more natural, you just have to hold your breath while you take them:) Also I suppose a lot of people as you say are not interested really in the well-being of what they are photographing.

  2. At least you managed some impressive external shots! I often wonder if I shouldn’t leave my camera-phone behind and take a sketchbook with me instead — what I’d lose in immediate gratification I’d more than gain from really looking and appreciating details and scale and form and shadow and texture and composition. I used to rely on a sketchbook as a kid, why not now?

    1. Oh thats so strange, I used to do that when my daughter was young, we used to sketch when we were on holiday, just sit and draw things that we saw. You are quite right, you do see more that way when you are drawing. Maybe something I might do again when I have more time, I have only just started to read again, one small step at a time 🙂 oh and glad you liked some of the photos 🙂

Leave a Reply

