St Mary’s Church, Glencoe, Scotland

DSC_0202

One of the places I wanted to visit was the village of Glenco, we kept seeing signs on other trips, so in 2013, we decided to have a look.  The location of the village is beautiful and we found St Mary’s Church, which stands on the north side of the main street.

DSC_0235

DSC_0233

The church was built to a design by Alexander Ross in 1880, along with a rectory, a school and a teacher’s house. Internally, the building is divided into a nave and a chancel. One of the undoubted highlights of the church is the carved wooden reredos behind the high altar, installed in about 1920. This includes brightly coloured depictions of Saints Columba, Kentigern (or Mungo), Ninian, and Margaret flanking the Crucifixion.

DSC_0223

DSC_0215 2

DSC_0216

The church has several really nice stained glass windows, and they fill the church with coloured light.  After we explored the church, we drove around Loch Leven, instead of carrying on to Glen Coe, as the weather was not at its best, but the rain kept at bay, long enough for me to take some photos of the Loch.  We will have to wait until the weather is nicer to visit the Glen.

DSC_0208

DSC_0209

DSC_0207

DSC_0206

DSC_0203

14 comments

  1. The first photo, with the window, really grabbed me. My first impression was of a woman; head bowed, hands folded in her lap. I can see that there are actually other things going on in the window, but I can’t shake that first impression. Would you mind if I copied that just for my personal use? It’s really striking.

    It’s a lovely church. The reredos is quite impressive. So is the cover on the font, a lot of detail. The pulpit is a bit intimidating. Good way to keep the young ones quiet in church. 🙂 The weather may not have been the best, but the pictures look great! Beautiful country. 🙂

    1. Yes of course you can copy it 🙂 I too think its an outline of a woman and I love it, that why I put it first, it just beautiful 🙂 It is a lovely little simple church full of lovely items, in beautiful countryside 🙂

      1. Thanks, Lynne! Nice to know someone else saw that. 🙂 I wonder if there’s a story behind it? I think the other two panels being blank makes it even more striking. Thanks again!

      2. You are most welcome Pat, I think they are quite modern windows, so there might be, not that I have found anything yet. I will dig the little leaflet out and see if it says anything 🙂

    1. Yes Jo, the windows are lovely. Yes its a long way, but we were in Glenco, so we followed the road to Kinlochleven, where they have the climbing centre in an old church, which did look a bit odd and then we crossed over and drove back down the other side…..but you don’t forget, Steve’s passion is driving and this was when we had the car and caravan, couldn’t do it in a big motorhome 🙂

      1. Ha ha, we did a trip once and went up where there was a ski lift right up in the highlands….thats when I decided that we would buy a little car to tow. So life is a little less scary now 🙂

  2. Ahhh.. It was a delight to visit the church,walk around feeling the peaceful worship attitude,then to walk outside to fresh clean air with such beautiful scenery was fantastic!

  3. Delighted to see these photos of the church, which I visited about four years ago on a long drive to the Hebrides from S.E. Ireland. Just managed a few photos of the interior due to rushing off to see the memorial to the massacre near the village. Hope you saw that too!
    I especially liked the window depicting the Good Shepherd (?) in the centre light, as I found it so easy to translate the Gaelic into English, being so much like Irish. The window is SOMWWHERE on my Flickr Photostream. – http://www.flickr.com/photos/mazurka66

Leave a Reply

