Road Trip to Uig, Isle of Skye, Scotland

DSC_0120

After our visit to Kilt Rock in 2013, we made our way across country to Uig, where you can catch the ferry across to the Outer Hebrides.  Here are just a few photos of the trip, which takes you through some of the most amazing landscapes.  Plus a few friends we made on the way 🙂

DSC_0123

DSC_0119

DSC_0130

DSC_0121

DSC_0132

DSC_0138

A view of Uig, as you make your way down to the village.

DSC_0149

DSC_0143

 

DSC_0152

Uig Tower which I have posted about in May 2013

DSC_0141_2

DSC_0141

11 comments

  1. I like your friends. 🙂 That’s quite a view with the white buildings scattered about on the green hill. Lovely photos. You do seem to have very good cooperation from the clouds. 🙂

    1. Thank you, the clouds come in handy in landscapes sometimes. Ha ha we had some lovely clouds last weekend brought to by Storm Kate. I did takes some photos, but I just have to get rid of a few more photos and then I can download some new photos 🙂 I love the sheep 🙂

      1. I’m glad to hear some small good came from Kate. 🙂 I don’t always see sheep with curly horns, these are quite interesting. Besides cute. 🙂

  2. The hotel looks like a delightful place to stay. It looks like Mr Sheep enjoys a picture taken of himself.( if it’s a she ..just don’t tell her …😄)

    1. Ha ha, I’m sure the sheep won’t mind, they are Hebridean sheep, a rare breed that both sexes have horns, some even have four. They have the most wonderful wool and you can get lovely throws made from it. I have yet to try the hotel, but it does look very tempting 🙂

      1. This sounds most tempting and interesting! 🙂 We are planning a trip to Scotland and the Western Isles next year, including The Outer Hebrides. I might get back to you for a question or two, if I may?
        Wishing you a wonderful weekend,
        warm greetings from North Norfolk,
        Dina & Klausbernd

      2. Hello, yes you can ask as many questions as you wish 🙂 We drove from one end of the Outer Hebrides to the other and they are wonderful islands to visit.
        Hope you have a great weekend, from the boarder of Cambridge and Norfolk,
        Lynne

  3. Stunning photos – the highlands and the West Cosat of Scotland is stunning (I have just returned from a trip to Gllen Coe myself)…your photos make me want to pack in work and head back again – for good 🙂

    1. Thank you, and you are so right about the West Coast, and I love the Islands. I hope you took lots of photos of Glen Coe, its quite a few years since we last visited, such wonderful scenery 🙂

Leave a Reply

