Tweed Weaving, Isle of Lewis, Scotland

DSC_0606

When we visited ‘Gearrannan Blackhouse Museum’ on the Isle Lewis in 2014, I had a field day.  I had see so many abandoned Blackhouses (cottages) on our trip through the Outer Hebrides, that now I was going to see what one would have looked when habitable.  But before that, I found another thing in the museum that I find fascinating, is how some of the inhabitance would work in one part of the Blackhouse at their weaving and live in the other half, oh and not forgetting any livestock they had, lived with them as well.

DSC_0603

Just imagine working all day long at the loom, I found it very difficult to take photos, as it was dark and of the weaver was moving, plus the loom.  So theses photos are the best that I took, although all but one was changed to mono.  But hopefully they give you an idea of how a weavers life would have been.

DSC_0604

DSC_0602

DSC_0607

DSC_0601

DSC_0610

12 comments

  1. Harris Tweed! Of course. I’d heard it was made in the Outer Hebrides. The cottage would have been chilly with no interior walls. I can’t imagine what that must be like. I’ve heard having the animals in the house helped keep it warm. Still not sure I’d want to do that. 🙂

    1. What is even more amazing, these cottages were lived in up to the early 1970’s. I will hopefully put some of the other photos to show what the living accommodation would have looked like 🙂 By the way it should be the Isle of Lewis, but as they are attached its the same Island really 🙂

  2. I had been pondering on how it must have been to live like that… Were there dividing walls in the house,I don’t mind living with a dog.. But having chickens in the kitchen underfoot…. Even a pig or cow on the other side of a wall would take some getting used to. I most say though on a cold morning when hand milking cows their body heat feels mighty good.

    1. Yes Deb there are dividing walls in the house, but the cow and pigs would quite close. I will put on some photos so that you can see. I have only had a go at milking once many years ago….. I wasn’t much good 🙂

  3. A wonderful site, with so many great photos and text. Enough info there to plan a great holiday, if you’re interested in scenery, antiquities, churches, stained glass, cemeteries, headstones, history, etc. I was especially pleased to see the pictures of St. Mary’s, Main Street, Glencoe, which my partner and I visited four years ago, on a long drive from Ireland (2,400 kilometres). The Kilpec church photos were most interesting, also the Blackhouse interiors from Harris & Lewis, which we also visited. Thank you!

    1. Thank you for the lovely comments and I am really glad you enjoyed some of the posts. I have only been to Dublin and around the countryside there for a day, but I loved every moment. Sounds like you are interested Churches, I am a bit behind posting Churches at the moment, other items keep creepy in 🙂 Harris and Lewis are full of lovely interesting items, I still have lots to post and I am guessing that you may also have visited a few of them 🙂 So please pop back now and again, Lynne 🙂

      1. Nice hearing from you! We have a lot in common!!!

        We also visited Iona that year from Mull. Much to see there. Saw some rare headstones in a defunct (?) but open church in rural Mull. They had been placed indoors. Have too many photos, and difficult to even look at them all and put more online. See my FLICKR pages (1,400 images approx.). Regards,

      2. Oh wow, just had a look, love your photos. Yes you could say we have a lot in common. We have been to Iona a couple of times and love visiting, have done lots of posts as it is all just so photogenic. You have some beautiful churches by the looks of it in Ireland, love the ruin ones. I will have a good look at your photos and will enjoy doing do so, Lynne 🙂

Leave a Reply

