Body Stone, St Kyneburgha, Castor, Cambridgeshire

DSC_0885

I am still sorting through photos and it will most likely take a little more time, more than I thought.  But its amazing what you find when tidying, I had totally forgotten about this 13/14th century ‘Body Stone’ in St Kyneburgha Church in Castor, Cambridgeshire.  It was moved into the church in 2008, which was made possible by a generous grant from ‘The Barbara Whatmore Charitable Trust’.  What is so unusual about the stone is, that the style is similar to the Cross used by the Order of St John of Jerusalem at that period.  It is a shame there is no record of this person, but if he was from the order, he would have been well travelled and what tales he would have been able to pass on……so its just left to our imagination.

Just a very short explanation to try to explain the difference between the Knights Hospitaller & Knights Templar, the difference is very simply, the Templars ceased to exist, and the Hospitallers certainly exist right now, working for the sick. Originally the latter were of a military order, the Knights Hospitallers of St. John of Jerusalem. The name comes from the dedication to St. John the Baptist of their headquarters in Jerusalem…… as I said, a very short explanation…….

DSC_0886

 

13 comments

  1. Interesting stone, indeed! I shall have to look up more on the Knights Hospitaller. I’ve heard the name, but don’t really know much about them. Thanks, Lynne. 🙂

    1. Thank you, iI amazing that it had not worn away even more, but now it should be ok inside the church, it was an interesting find……which I had totally forgotten about 🙂

  2. I pulled up the encyclopedia to read more about these knight hospitallers,so very interesting! Would enjoy seeing the stone in person.l

    1. I like it when I have posted something and people look it up….means I’m doing my job, ha ha, wish it was my job, but I am glad you found it interesting 🙂

  3. A fascinating stone, Lynne! And an interesting name, as well – the ‘Body Stone’, as if it marked the remains of some important body! The Hospitallers have an interesting if lesser-known history in comparison to the Templars. I had to sort out the differences when I visited Torphichen a year or so back (Hospitallers’ Preceptory). I wonder if I can see the faint remains of a sword carved beneath the cross, or is it wishful thinking?

    1. I thought you might find it interesting Jo, I had forgotten about it, shame on me 🙂 But as to the sword, there is a broken up ridge along the centre, not sure it if it would be a sword or not, it was very dark in the church and I had to lighten the photos, might need to pop in and have a look when passing. I did miss a cross in the churchyard, so two reasons to have a look 🙂 We had quite a few Hospitallers around here, so it would be interesting to find out why.

Leave a Reply

