Castle or Rock – A Scottish Mystery

DSC_0015_2

On our recent May 2016 holiday to the west coast of Scotland, we had a lovely trip to the Isle of Lismore, which is an island in the Inner Hebrides of the west coast of Scotland. We travelled on the car ferry from Oban, which took about an hour.  As we took our little car, we covered most of the Islands roads and it felt like we had stepped back in time, so peaceful.  I will post more of our visit, but something has been nagging me, this mystery feature in the photo…… on the trip back to Oban, the sea was calmer, it was a bit choppy going, so we had kept inside, but I ventured out coming back and took some photos.  Later in the evening when looking through the photos, I saw what I thought could have been a castle on one of the small islands off the coast of the Island.  I have gone through all the local castles, but there is no record of one like this, or could it just be, a big square rock.  So any suggestions would be welcomed 🙂

DSC_0997_2

 

DSC_0995_2

DSC_0010_2

May 2016

13 comments

    1. Hopefully Jo might, well I’m hoping she will 🙂 But it is a strange one, its a shame I couldn’t see the other side, if is a rock, its huge 🙂 I really had to zoom in.

      1. I think we have found the dog and the other one is his bone, I have seen that large stone, so many times and never thought about it. But that is how my castle-rock stone came into being, clever you 🙂 its amazing what the elements can do over time…….I wonder if there are anymore, I will have to keep an eye open 🙂

  1. So glad that you got to Lismore, Lynne! I look forward to hearing all about it! That looks like a natural tower of rock to me – Leonie knows those islands quite well and isn’t aware of a castle or ruins there, although it’s always worth looking at a large-scale map! Would be fun to land there and find out. 🙂

    1. Thanks Jo, I really enjoyed Lismore. We were suppose to go for the day, but we had a puncture the day before so had to change our ferry time, but we did go from one end to the other. Really does feel like another world 🙂 I think Pat came up with a good answer for the castle-rock , as I was a bit stuck as to the shape, but she came up with how the Dog Stone near Oban came about. So I think you are right that it is a natural rock tower, but it was interesting to find out. Shame its not a castle, could do with some more 🙂

      1. That’s a shame about the puncture but I hope you managed to see something of Lismore. Yes, I wondered about the Dog Stone. There’s some very interesting geology around there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

