Nancy to the Rescue

DSC_0059_2

I have had one horrible afternoon and evening, I have at the moment lost all my photos.  The iPhoto on my Mac has decided it doesn’t want to play anymore and no amount of backups will make it work.  So tomorrow it will have to go to the IT people and see if they can save them and get iPhotos to work again.  This is the second time, last time was four years ago, that time though the whole PC went, this time just the photos, but not sure why it won’t back up from the external drive.  Luckily in the trash I had some photos of Nancy that I was going to post, but posted something else instead, so at least I had one photo to post.  All is not lost though, as I kept all the photos on cards for the last couple of years and the much older ones on other PC’s, it just means loading them all back on and sorting them again, which is what I have been doing for the last year.  Anyway I am not going to let it get to me, I have loads on here, and also made files of family photos and they are ok, as they were never in iPhotos.  Really they are the ones that count, I can go and take more photos of castles, but not of my grandchildren growing up 🙂

The photo is of Nancy on the ferry going to the Isle of Mull, Scotland, three weeks ago…..so wish I was there now.

16 comments

  1. I can sympathize. My computer has gone silent and I’m making do with my Kindle Fire right now. I just downloaded all my files to an external hard drive last week! I hope you get the pictures back ok. It’s always good to see Nancy. 🙂

    1. Thanks Pat, but I have a feeling they are all damaged somehow, but still not sure why the external hard drive will not work, will find out tomorrow. Sorry to hear you are having similar problems with your PC, glad you downloaded in time and hopefully it can be fixed. I will just have try and use my one at work to down photos on to the blog and try and do it that way, hopefully until this one is fixed. Nancy has got good sea legs….ha ha more than me 🙂

  2. So sorry to hear about your photos! It’s such a shock when things like this happen. Hard drives have a finite life, and sometimes they just seize up. I hope the IT guy can retrieve your hard work, but it’s good you have your back ups.
    A tip might be to invest in several memory sticks. You can get tiny ones of 32GB etc. Then every time you have sorted out your photos, just back them up on a stick. It does give peace of mind.
    But Nancy is adorable, and when things like this happen – you can always go hug her! 😀

    1. Thank you 🙂 It is a nasty shock, but it could be worse, but is my fault as well, I should have connected to the cloud we have, never mind, but the memory stick is a another back up, thanks for that I didn’t think of it. IT man can’t look at it for a bit, so I thought I would use husbands as he can’t get on with the Mac, charged it up, turned it on and guess what its not working. Ha ha so its back to more photos of Nancy and some puffins I found 🙂 🙂 Nancy has just given me a kiss, she thought I needed it 🙂

      1. Aw, don’t dogs always know when you need them? 🙂
        And I wouldn’t give up yet – your photos maybe out in cyberspace Somewhere! 🙂

      2. Yes dogs do have that knack 🙂 The clever IT chaps have got the photos to load onto the external drive, but I had to have new mac, which is lovely, but I have to learn all over again as it is a lot different than my old one. But the good thing is that they seem to have saved the photos 🙂

      3. Excellent! I thought they’d find the photos Somewhere 🙂
        And good luck with your new laptop. I’m sure you’ll soon get the hang of it 🙂

  3. Commiserations, Lynne, that sort of thing is both frustrating and distressing, especially when we’ve become over-reliant on technology. But was it not the same with photos and photo-albums of yore? If they came back intact from Boots or Snappy Snaps (so many scare stories we could all tell) then photos could mysteriously go missing before they got into albums, negatives to make duplicates inevitably couldn’t be located without abstemious filing, the albums themselves were at risk from water, heat, damp, mould, playful puppies, curious infants … I’m depressing myself now!

    1. Thank you and you are so right about the photos, luckily on my old PC I copied loads of old photos and then a friend put them on discs for me….eh I wonder where they are 🙂 But it does make you wonder what you should do for the best, I backed up with an external drive, but something went wrong, what happens if cloud bursts, what happens if I loose my cards and so on and on. But they are only photos and it just means I will have to visit all the places I lost photos of again, which I did the first time I lost them……now I’m depressing myself !

  4. I know that feeling of losing photos.. It has happened in this household! So… Frustrating .. Cute shot of Nancy. She reminds me of our Jack Russell, ready for any adventure.

    1. Thanks Jo, I think the IT chaps have saved them by getting then on to external drive, it will take 2 days for them to up load !!! But I had to have a new mac, but this time it has a high power external drive and the cloud comes on every time I open the laptop, so hopefully, I will now be safe 🙂 Just have to get grips of now getting them on to the blog, as it its totally different to my old mac, but hopeful it might be easier 🙂

Leave a Reply

