The Rescue Services at the Falls of Lora, Scotland

DSC_0232

As we came over the Connel Bridge on our way to Oban on holiday at the start of May 2016, we could see the ‘Falls of Lora’ in quite a spectacular mode.  After crossing the bridge there is a small carpark that you can stop and see the water.  I must admit, just for a second I thought I was seeing a rescue taking place, thank goodness it was the Rescue Service practising, and I got some good action photos.  I found the following board that gives you some details on the falls and at the bottom you can see one of the rescue boats, similar to the ones practising.

DSC_0237

DSC_0216

There were two craft, one always waiting further down steam.

DSC_0220

Now the action starts.  Man overboard, or in this case….pushed.

DSC_0231

DSC_0222

DSC_0232

DSC_0219

DSC_0217

DSC_0223

DSC_0234

DSC_0225

DSC_0213

Everyone was saved and actually looked like they enjoyed being pushed into the water.

DSC_0229

DSC_0238

DSC_0240

DSC_0239

May 2016

6 comments

  1. They probably did.😄 Hubby served as a volunteer on the fire department,he always enjoyed the drills. The yellow flowers are beautiful, makes a lovely photo!

  2. That is some really powerful water! Good to know those guys are there. Great shots, Lynne. You don’t get chances like that too often. 🙂

    1. No Pat in five years we had never seen them there before, just the right day. Yes the water is running really fast and I’m not sure I would throw myself in, even with mates to pull me out 🙂

  3. Nice action shots! Looks like they were enjoying themselves, from what I can see! Essential practice, though, and great to know that these teams are ready at all hours – most are volunteers. Always love seeing the Falls, especially when they’re running fast!

    1. Thank you, I am amazed that they came out ok, the were moving really fast, so I took loads and they were all good…..thats the camera not me 🙂 I just love the way they went in, it looked quite dangerous, the water was fast, very brave men 🙂

Leave a Reply

