Bay at the Back of the Ocean, Isle of Iona, Scotland

DSC_0539

On our third trip to the beautiful Island of Iona, off the west coast of Scotland, in May 2016, we decided to walk across the island.  We have visited the religious sites, which I have copiously posted about, so this time we wanted to check out the island.  We had read about the ‘Bay at the back of the Ocean’ and the small green stones that you can find on the beach, which are call mermaid tears.

DSC_0515

This was the start of the walk, once off the ferry, we turned left, and followed the road.

DSC_0516

DSC_0517

DSC_0532

DSC_0548

We passed a few people and even had a few conversations on the way, but mostly we were on our own. To me, this part of the island was just as spiritual as the location of the Abbey.

DSC_0538

Nancy just had to have swim in the water, which was crystal clear and cooled her off.

We then arrive at the ‘Bay at the Back of the Ocean’ which spread out before us, where the machair ends and a bank of shingle fringes the beach.

DSC_0539

DSC_0543

My husband looking for the mermaid tears, which he did find and now live in a glass jar in the bathroom 🙂  They have traces of marble in them, from the old marble quarry at the other end of the island,  although I think they should be all marble, but we only found green like pebbles.  In one of the shops, they had a basket of the same pebbles as ours and they were called Mermaid Tears, so thats good enough for us.

DSC_0540DSC_0542

May 2016

17 comments

  1. I think Nancy had the right idea, that water looks lovely! I might at least have stuck my toes in. 🙂 Never heard of Mermaid Tears before, but I’m crazy about rocks so I’ll have to look them up.

    1. Ha ha the water was still little cold, lets say she did’nt do it again 🙂 When you look up stones, you will see what I mean about two different types. But the local shop had them likes ours, small pebbles with green on them, could be totally different, but they are quite nice 🙂

  2. Oh, I really want to go there now!! Fabulous photos, Lynne. I have some mermaid’s tears from there too, but never knew that was what they were called, so thank you. It must be one of the most beautiful beaches in the world! 🙂

    1. Thank you Jo, I think we were very lucky with the weather, is was beautiful and its an island that shines in the sun. That beach is amazing with the colour of the water. I’m not sure if we have the right tears, I think they are tiny pear shape little bits of marble, ours are green pebbles, but we love them 🙂

  3. I agree with you about that part of the island being just as spiritual as the other part with the religious buildings. Although I have yet to visit (and I intend to) there is a spirituality in nature itself. It makes me think of the attitude of the Celtic Saints-there were two sacred books: the book of scripture and the ‘book’ of creation.

    1. Oh you will love it when you to visit, the whole island has this wonderful spiritual feeling, it washes over you and really want to stay forever 🙂

Leave a Reply

