Kilkenneth Chapel Ruins, Isle of Tiree, Scotland

DSC_0259

When we were on the Isle of Tiree, off the west coast of Scotland in May 2016, I wanted to try and visit as many of the religious sites that I could….. but not this one, Kilkenneth a medieval chapel, that could have be built on an even older site.  As most of the sites only have small amounts of stonework left, sometimes its quite hard to track them down.  No trouble with this site, nice big notice board, a stile for you climb over…….into what I would call an enclosure of about twenty cows, all very close together.  I do not do cows and before anyone says anything, its just that I was frightened as a small child in a farmyard by some cows and the fear has never really left me.  Anyway I digress, so there was no going over the stile and I didn’t even take a photos of the cows and whats more you couldn’t see the ruins, not a good start. We drove along and turned following the field where the ruin would have been, when suddenly I saw the ruins half buried in the sand dunes.  Not a lot to see or even photograph, but still an important site on this small Island and worth making a record of, before it is totally consumed by the dunes.

DSC_0255

DSC_0258

DSC_0257

May 2016

8 comments

  1. Those childhood scares deserve a lot of respect. Logic is useless. But I don’t think you missed too much this time. Interesting, though, I wouldn’t have known those were sand dunes! 🙂

    1. Thanks Pat, no there is no logic, I like cows but at a distance and thankfully there wasn’t a lot to see 🙂 The sand dunes are covered with small flowers and grasses which bound them together 🙂

  2. That’s okay that you are scared of cows.. I’m terrified of rats, and they are so much smaller than cows! 😀 Even though there wasn’t much to see ,the old stones and sign were interesting!

    1. Thank you Deb, now you see rats are fine, we use to have two pet ones, they were spotty ones, black and white and really tame. Although I still don’t want them in the garden, but I’m not afraid of them. We are all different in our likes and dislikes, I suppose it makes us who we are, quite an interesting subject really 🙂 My Mum use to say to me that a cow sees four of everything, so they would see four of me, ha ha I think that was to make me less scared, it never worked though, bless her. Yes when you think that the ruins are over five hundred years old, and more likely older, they take on a different meaning than just a pile of old stones 🙂

      1. Oh that so made me laugh, and yes my mum was a very sweet person, unfortunately she died when she was 50, but I have wonderful memories 🙂

  3. Och well, the sand’s been trying to cover it for something like 1000 yr now. Think the late Angus MacDonald’s grandfather was the last person buried there. They lived in one of the black roofed cottages across the road.

Leave a Reply

