Skerryvore 1844, The Tallest Lighthouse In Scotland

DSC_0240

The main reason that we visited the beach on the previous post, was to see if we could see the Skerryvore Lighthouse off the coast of the Isle of Tiree on the west coast of Scotland and we could.  The first photo is full close-up of the lighthouse which is 12 miles from where we were standing.  The second photo is normal, you have to look along the horizon and towards the right you will see a tiny spike, that is the lighthouse, took us about 5 minutes to locate it.  As I wanted this lighthouse for my collection, its was the only way that I would ever see it, thank goodness it was a beautiful clear day.

DSC_0239

There is a museum on the Island and I will post about that later, and there is an exhibition about the lighthouse and the following photos show what you are really looking at.

DSC_0112

DSC_0110

DSC_0106

The lighthouse was described by Robert Louis Stevenson as “the noblest of all extant deep sea lights.”  Roberts uncle, Alan Stevenson, was the chief engineer for the project which spanned seven years, four of which involved the actual construction, from 1840 to 1844.

DSC_0118

DSC_0119

A few details about the Stevenson Family, but I now think there is no way, that I will find all 156 lighthouses, oh well just keep looking 🙂

DSC_0116 (1)

DSC_0117

DSC_0120

May 2016

9 comments

  1. Do they allow visitors now to climb the stairs? Be interesting to see the inside of the lighthouse! That’s a lot of lighthouses to be finding. 🙂

    1. I’m not sure you can visit the lighthouse, I know that you can go on a boat to have a look at it, but I don’t think they land, its bit rough, there are few lighthouses in Kent that you can visit, we did many years ago, but I have no photos now of that visit. I think I have only taken photos of four of the lighthouse so far, so still a long way to 🙂

  2. Good job for spotting that! It must have been quite a challenge building out on that bit of rock. You’ll just have to retire and spend your time traveling. Wouldn’t that be a journey! 🙂

    1. Thank you, it was just so lucky that the weather was so clear, got a bit of a thrill to see it, even though its just a pinprick 🙂 Retirement ….God willing, we have that planned for about 4 years time, and hopefully we will take the motorhome across Europe and maybe further, fingers and everything crossed. As to the lighthouse I think it was fair to say it was quite an achievement as some of those waves reach forty foot, fancy building that in the late 1800’s 🙂

  3. That’s very interesting, Lynne! Well done for spotting it. I would like to have seen that for myself. 12 miles is a long way and I’m guessing also that the curvature of the earth means that you don’t see all of it (?) but I must pay more attention to Brian Cox! 😀 What a place to be posted to, when it was manned. A tour of the Stevenson lighthouses sounds like a huge enterprise but very interesting, and I’m sure it would take you to some pretty remote places. I’m going to try and think now how many I’ve seen myself!

    1. Thank you Jo, it did give me quite a thrill, like seeing a rare flower or bird, in this case a rare lighthouse. We knew roughly in what direction to look, but it was a a long time in finding, but once found you saw it all the time then 🙂 Oh I think I have only seen 4 or 5 of their lighthouses but it would be great fun to find some more:)

      1. You have seen one that I know of Bass Rock Lighthouse 🙂 Yes it might be a fun thing to do, not sure about the Bell Rock one though, a bit far out 🙂

Leave a Reply

