A Postcard from Sunny New Quay, Wales

For this years visit to New Quay, Wales, we actually stayed in New Quay at ‘The Black Lion’, we normally take our motorhome and stay a couple of miles away on a caravan site. Β We were only here for the weekend, as we go away again on Wednesday, but it was quite nice to stop in the seaside town itself. Β When we arrived we went for a walk down to the harbour and I took a few photos, so glad I did, because that sunshine was the last we would see, until we got home.

New Quay was once a thriving port, shipbuilding and fishing centre, although is has recently become a very popular seaside destination for seaside holidays. The Harbour and Dolau beaches have stunning golden sands to rival any, and have also become a favourite for fishing and watersports enthusiasts. New Quay is also one of the best spots in Ceredigion to see bottlenose dolphins and is home to a marine wildlife centre.

September 2016

17 comments

  1. You really do need a treat now and then. A lovely place! Lots of folks enjoying the sun. I like those two little fellows in their shell house. More gnomes? πŸ™‚

    1. I did think about a gnome category, but…. I think I have enough πŸ™‚ I loved them in their little shell house and they look out to the lovely view of the Harbour Beach, come rain or shine πŸ™‚ We were lucky to have some sun, the next day the weather was awful, but we just made the best of it πŸ™‚

    1. Thanks for the link Pat, that is very similar to the houses on the Norfolk coast, thats so interesting, I hope they save it and also interesting see a close up of the cobbles. I will google Elgin and have a look πŸ™‚

      1. That’s interesting. I’ve never seen houses like that anywhere else. Of course there are a few places I haven’t been. πŸ™‚

      2. We would call them flint stone cottages, some are half cobbles with the flat shiny side showing, but some are full cobbles. I will try and get some photos when we come back from holiday πŸ™‚

  2. I hope you raised a pint (or 12) to Dylan Thomas! The Black Lion was one of his favourite pubs. Some of the geography of Under Milk Wood was clearly inspired by New Quay’s terraced streets above Cardigan Bay. The last time I was there (in Dylan’s centenary year), there was a wealth of Dylan-related material in the bar.

  3. Love this!! I’m currently a newbie blogger, starting a new blog on my life in New Quay! I’m determined to appreciate the gorgeous coastline that surrounds me – Check out my blog and follow my new adventures around cardigan bay!!

Leave a Reply

