St Michael’s Church, Munich, Germany

dsc_0950

St Michael’s Church, another truly beautiful city church, that when walking past, you could be forgiven for thinking it is not a church….. but it is.  This was the second church we visited last week on our walk about in the beautiful city of Munich, the capital of Bravia, Germany.  St Michael is a Jesuit church, the largest Renaissance church north of the Alps. The style of the building had an enormous influence on Southern German early Baroque architecture.  Built between 1583 and 1597 and having suffered severe damage during the Second World War, the church was restored in 1946-48. Finally, between 1980 and 1983, the stucco-work was restored.  All I can say is they did a magnificent job of restoration and I really enjoyed taking the photos, just wished I had, had the place to myself, very selfish of me, but I really like bodiless photos, unless I am doing street photography.  Anyway, I will let the photos do the talking, hope you like them 🙂

dsc_0916

dsc_0919

dsc_0942

dsc_0920

dsc_0943

dsc_0947

dsc_0945

dsc_0930

dsc_0931

dsc_0950

dsc_0959

17 comments

  1. Great photos Lynne, of an amazing church. It’s such a shame when buildings like that get damaged during war time, but it looks like they have done an amazing job in restoring it! Glad to know that I’m not the only one who often thinks selfishly about being the only person at a locality to photograph it! Lol! 🙂

    1. Well its nice to know that I am not the only one as well Lol Yes they have done a wonderful job at restoring this church and several others in the city. Anyway its nice to hear from you 🙂

  2. What an amazing place! I could spend quite a while looking at just the altar, there’s so much to see. I love the font with the angel standing over it. What a beautiful thing to do. Thanks, Lynne. 🙂

    1. Glad you like it Pat, I am going to Venice tomorrow for a week, and I am hoping to photograph a few of the smaller churches and visit the Islands, so hopefully I might get some good photos, if the weather is kind 🙂

  3. Another wonderful church! I would love to hear the pipe organ full the building with music! The picture of Jesus on the cross was touching.

Leave a Reply

