Chiesa di S Paolo Apostolo – Venice, Italy

dsc_0301

I must admit I cheated taking these photos of San Polo Church in Venice, it was just another church that you couldn’t take photos of and I was starting to get a bit fed up.  In truth, I would have had a look because of the paintings, but I watched a young lady put a rope across the entrance as they were closing, but then she disappeared through a doorway…… two shots through the entrance, it was so dark I wasn’t sure I had actually got any images, but with luck I got theses.

The free standing campanile is dated 1362, but could be older.

dsc_0300

This church, dedicated to the Apostle Paul, was founded in 837 by the doges Pietro Tradonico and Orso Partecipazio and rebuilt in the 12th and 15th centuries. Some heavy-handed restoration, additions and losses (including a mosaic-covered chapel and a silver Byzantine altar-front) in 1804 by David Rossi were partly reversed in 1927 revealing, for example, the 15th Century wooden ship’s keel roof and restoring the rose window which dates from the same period.

4 comments

  1. Good job! Great pictures, in and out. I had to look up “campanile.” I didn’t even know there was such a thing as a free standing bell tower. I like learning new things. 🙂

    1. They are the same as our church towers that are built separately away from the church, because of the weight. Because most of our land is reclaimed in the Fens, the weight of the two buildings combined, would be too great and it would start to sink. Thats why we have a lots of towers that lean, as they are too heavy for their foundations. Most of the towers in Venice lean, some quite a lot, so in away, just like ours here in the Fens. I wish I had got to have a look, as there were some wonderful paintings inside, never mind, I will just have to go back 🙂

Leave a Reply

