John Whittome The Millwright & Miller

I thought I would reblog this post from 2014 to go with my recent one on windmill headstones.

Echoes of the Past

DSC_0587

This headstone in Hilgay Churchyard, Norfolk, jumped straight out at me when I walk around the corner of the church, I have never seen one like it before.  I was quite fascinated by it and wondered if John Whittome had been a miller.  So I did a bit of researching to day and found out quite a lot of John Whittome, who was a Millwright and also became a Miller.

In loving memory of John Whittome died May 10th 1891 aged 74 years also of Elizabeth his wife died March 31st 1894 aged 76 years God is love

John Whittome died in 1891 and was buried in Hilgay churchyard, to the south of the church. The distinctive headstone has the carving of a large tower windmill with a stage, possibly Denver Mill, and was inscribed:Wheel & Millwright, Joiner & General Smith.  

The Whittome family ran The Hilgay Post Mill (which…

View original post 154 more words

7 comments

  1. Talk about coincidences! I watched an old episode of Midsomer Murders today and they had one of these windmills in it. It was series 6, episode 4 if you want to look it up. It was actually on camera enough you could get a decent look at it. It was nice to see.

    1. I will have a look, they are lovely to see, especially if the sails are working 🙂 I really must visit some next year, as we have a lot in our neck of the woods 🙂

Leave a Reply

