Medieval Elephant

dsc_0078

I was going to stay at home today and rest in the hopes of getting rid of my now constant companion, my cold, before the call of duty tomorrow, work.  After yesterdays rain, today, Bank Holiday, was lovely and sunny…..to start with.  Anyway, my husband who has a new car and at the moment will drive me anywhere and I mean anywhere, said…. surely you would like to go and look for ‘Round Tower Churches’.  He is so crafty, we were in the car and on the way before I had finished my cough sweet.

We did have a lovely round trip of Norfolk, we were following a route I found in a guide book, not sure how long ago it was written, but it took us to places we didn’t even know about.  There were five churches on this route, we actually found eight, we are still trying to work that one out.  I was very good, I saw lots of lovely churches that I would have loved to have stopped at, but I was being very strict, they had to have round towers.  I did deviate once, that was to take a quick peep at a castle, it wasn’t open, but its on the list for the spring.  The weather was quite a mixture, from lovely sunshine to almost snow, we saw lots of gritter lorries on the way home, laying salt, so looks like we are in for a cold night.

The lovely medieval elephant pew end, is in the charming Round Tower Church of St Peter & St Paul’s at Tuttington, Norfolk.  Once I have sorted the photos, I will start to post the churches, each one has its own character, well to start with, they all have towers that could be Saxon, thats a start.

January 2017

12 comments

    1. I just know it was more, but somehow the Plague, didn’t quite enter my head 🙂 But you could be right, someone else said about five weeks…. I just hope we all get better soon….I have a sneaky suspicion that the Queen must have the plague too 🙂

    1. The car ride was great, nice high 4 x 4 so I can get some good photos through the window ha ha 🙂 I am still trying to find out what the elephant is doing in the church, a strange one that 🙂

  1. Elephants are my favorite wild animal. This is a really nice carving. I had dinner with some friends today. Four out of the five had colds for at least two weeks. Maybe it is the Plague. It’s hopping oceans now. 🙂

    1. Glad you like him 🙂 Oh my, we have sent the plague over, most likely in a plane and not by sail boat, so it got to you quicker. Hope you all feel better soon, at last my nose has dried up 🙂 still got the cough, but fingers crossed, it is getting better 🙂

    1. Yes it is, and I found that there is another one in Chester Cathedral, still trying to find out what it means in the sense of it being an Elephant and Castle 🙂

Leave a Reply

