Medieval Picnic Basket

dsc_0058

I thought I would do an odd post now and again of the lovely Medieval pew ends that I found in the Round Tower Church of St Peter & St Paul’s at Tuttington, Norfolk.

This is quite a strange one, unfortunately that lady has lost her lower arms, but just look at the design of her hair with some kind of coif, so Medieval.  Now I’m not sure what is going on here, but it seems that some kind of dogs are eating out of a basket, maybe the ladies picnic basket…..not sure if that has a religious theme about it.  In fact the more I look, it would seem like one dog and some bird like creature, it defiantly looks like a beak on the bottom of the two animals.  Just so interesting what you can find in these wonderful buildings.

dsc_0080

dsc_0081

January 2017

11 comments

  1. Maybe that’s where they got the idea for Princess Leia’s hairdo. 🙂 Seriously, If you ever find anything out about these please post! I am so curious about them and have tried looking on line, but I can’t seem to come up with anything. Maybe there an obscure book on a back shelf in a book store somewhere. 🙂

    1. I knew I had seen that hair do before 🙂 Yes I will let you know, they are quite a strange set of pew ends, this is where the elephant came from as well, Still have no idea about that one, apart from there is an elephant in Chester Cathedral, need to visit and see it 🙂

      1. Thanks, Lynne! I wonder if that other woman was churning butter. Not sure what churns looked like in medieval times. 🙂

      2. Yes she could be, I have a close up of the one, which I will post. I just find them all amazing, when you think how old they all are 🙂

    1. Well that is quite an idea really, all these fairytales start somewhere and most are really not quite nice when you start to think about them. Yes food for thought 🙂

  2. The elephant in Chester Cathedral is well worth the visit. Maybe the animals are taking advantage because the girl looks ‘armless :s

Leave a Reply

