Golden Hair & Maybe A Cruise

dsc_0968

This is part of a beautiful stained glass window in the lovely church of St Michaels & All Angels in Middlewich, Cheshire.  The church will follow tomorrow, it would have been tonight, but my cold or virus is making it very hard for me to concentrate, it is now in its seventh week and I think tiredness has a lot to do with it.  My husband has said I can pick a P&O cruise for us to go on, to cheer me up.  Which if you knew my husband is miracle, he was in the Merchant Navy many years ago and said he would never go on a cruise……thats ok for him, he has flown and sailed to more countries than I can name.  He will not fly now, although I did get him to my nieces wedding in the US a couple of years ago, but although I like flying, it’s not nice watching someone who is not at all happy for hours on end.  So last year we went on lots of trains to Italy, lovely holiday, but he says he doesn’t fancy the train again……so I can pick a cruise……. Iceland, Russia, or 90 days around the world, no, not that one yet.  I have to pick carefully or it might be the only one we ever go on.  We do drive a lot through Europe, but there is only so far you can get in 2 weeks and still have a holiday.  So I better start choosing 🙂

10 comments

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve still got that cold, or whatever it is. Mine’s down to a few sniffles. I think you should go sit on some ship’s deck with a good book and just breath that refreshing salt air for a couple weeks. But that might get boring! I can’t wait to see where you decide to go. 🙂

    1. Thank you Pat, that so sound so lovely sitting in the sunshine and resting…..oh well maybe later. Glad yours is nearly better, mine gets nearly better, then just flares up again, can’t go on for much longer 🙂 A Rhine cruise could be possible this year, we have left it a bit late for the P&O ones, we will have ro book one for next year….ha ha Russia here I come, or maybe Iceland 🙂

  2. This is exciting news,you and yours taking a cruise! 😄 I hope you lose that nasty cold so that your not so tired. Lovely stained window photo.

    1. Well it cheered me up for a bit, even if its next year, I think we have left it too late for this year, it will be something to look forward to. It just seems ages since I have felt well, never mind it must end soon 🙂 And yes its a lovely window, the colours are so beautiful 🙂

    1. Oh yes, its cheered me up, more that fact that if he will cruise, there are so many places that I thought I would never see, because of not flying. So fingers crossed he will like it 🙂

  3. The Resurrection window is so full of rich colour – this portion is a great example. The window is late 19thC and is acknowledgment to 45 years devoted and faithful service by their vicar, Isaac Wood. What a wonderful drum roll to your main post.
    Get well soon – how about a cruise round the Cheshire Ring in a canal boat? You could pop into the church again 🙂

Leave a Reply

