A Trip Across The Yorkshire Moors

Last year 2016, we had a chance to visit Yorkshire a couple of times, and once across the Yorkshire Moors.  As both trips were at the beginning of the year, the weather was a little overcast, but I did manage to salvage a few photos.  I can’t remember exactly where we were, but we had left Ripley and its castle to head for Whitbey on the coast, the drive is lovely and one I would like to do in the summer.  At the moment we’re in a really nice hotel in Charmouth, Dorset, but the weather is awful, the wind is howling outside and rain is lashing down.  It’s the early hours of the morning and I just hope the weather improves, as Charmouth has a wonderful beach for fossil hunting, but not in the pouring rain.  Oh well there’s always churches to fall back on 🙂

12 comments

      1. I like to think of it as “atmosphere.” 😉. But those photos are so nice, I do feel like I’ve strolled there! (While perhaps staying a bit warmer…)

  1. You have so many lovely memories, Lynn. I’m planning on visiting Whitby in the summer. It’s been on my list for a while. Sorry to hear the weather’s so bad in Dorset. Hope it clears up for you soon so you can go hunting fossils. In the meantime enjoy the churches. They’re big favourites of mine too.

    1. Oh you will love Whitby, its so picturesque. I think any fossil hunting is out of the question now, the winds are too strong, but never mind, there’s plenty of churches 🙂

  2. That is a handsome fellow keeping a eye on you. 🙂 The moors don’t look too forbidding. Of course that image probably came from “Wuthering Heights” which I read when I was young and impressionable. 🙂 Actually it doesn’t look to different from around here. Just not as flat. Enjoyed the tour. 🙂

    1. Glad you enjoyed the tour 🙂 I think when the mist comes down or its snowing, then they become forbidding for walkers, but not too bad if you are in car 🙂

Leave a Reply

