Stormy Lyme Regis, West Dorset

On our visit to Dorset and Devon last week, we experienced stormy weather.  Now usually when we visit in the summer, its all sunshine and blue skies.  So I wanted to make the most of it and enjoy the weather.  In the morning before our fossil hunting walk along the beach at Charmouth, we visited a few coastal towns to see how they were standing up to the heavy seas.  Lyme Regis was the first stop and there were some pretty high waves and lots of sea spray.  It was the first time we have been there, that the streets were not heaving with tourists, in fact it was quite empty, mind you it was pretty wet, cold and very windy…..Next stop Dawlish in Devon.

 

9 comments

  1. That ocean looks cold to me today, we’re below freezing again. 😦 Won’t last long, though. 🙂 I really like the photo of the roofs, the angles are so interesting. Works well in black and white.

    1. Thanks Pat….oh thats sounds cold, we have had quite warm weather over the last few days, but it drop a bit tonight, strange weather, but nowhere near freezing 🙂 I have yet to visit the church in the black & white photo, its up quite a sharpe hill, so I took the photo to remind me and ended up liking it 🙂

    1. Thank you, I have a summer post to do of the town, which shows you the cob and the other end, I will…..one day post it. But at the moment I am in storm mode, I too love the sea in the winter, you must get some good stormy seas where you are 🙂

  2. I know that it can be nasty weather at times like this,but standing on shore with the wind whipping at your clothes and the deafening noise of the crashing winds is …. I don’t know how to say it… maybe exhilarating

Leave a Reply

