A Day Out in Search of Stormy Seas, Devon

dsc_0619

Returning to our visit of Dorset and Devon, after leaving Lyme Regis, we set off to find some more waves.  Our next stop was going to be Dawlish in Devon to try and get some photos, but the roads along the sea front were closed.  A train line runs along the coast and comes across the seafront in Dawlish and I was lucky enough to catch a train coming along.  I just missed a large wave going over the top of the train, but now we realised why the road was closed.  We then headed towards Teignmouth and then on to East Teignmouth to see if we could get to the sea front, and as there is a high sea wall there, the road was open. We got out of the car and started to walk, the promenade was nearly empty, only a couple of hardy locals and us.

dsc_0656

 

 

We made our way to the railway line to see if any trains were running and with luck one came round the bend and was engulfed in a wave, I caught some of the wave, which was quite spectacular to witness.

dsc_0639

dsc_0637

dsc_0642

After I had taken my photos, I noticed a yellow information board about a wreck just of the coast from where we standing.  I read about how it was illegal to dive or fish in the area of the wreck, and then I looked out to sea and wondered what damage the waves were doing to the remains at this very moment.

dsc_0660

dsc_0665

dsc_0668

We walked back along to the car, but I spied a church, husband got into the car to warm through and left me to explore the church, which I will post about later.  On my return from the church, we made our way to Torquay further along the coast. Below are some photos that I took on leaving Teignmouth, a lovely pub, which was closed, and of course some doggies that we passed on the way.

So on to Torquay, again in the hopes of more waves, but unfortunately the whole seafront road was closed.  I’m not sure why because the waves were not as high as back along the coast.

This caused quite a traffic jam, and we decided to go back to Charmouth in Dorset and see if we could go fossil hunting on the beach. which we did and which I have posted about.  Although, we didn’t go straight back, but had wonderful afternoon tea in Honiton a lovely market town in East Devon and I quickly managed another church.  In the evening we went to River Cottage, (please google if you have no idea what River Cottage is) this was the main reason for our visit and to spend an evening with the man himself, Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, but it would seem that poor Hugh had come down with the nasty cold virus, which has still not quite left me.  We were offered a cancellation and our money back, but decided to go anyway, enjoy the food and company which we did.

dsc_0454

River Cottage HQ, where you eat, either in the farmhouse or the barn and both are good venues. And as Hugh couldn’t be there, Gelf Alderson, the Head Chef was there to tell us about the eight course tasting which we were going to indulge in and very nice it was indeed 🙂

dsc_0873

February 2017

14 comments

  1. You got some really great photos! But you’re braver than I am, that kind of wave action is not something I want to get too close to. 🙂 I looked up River Cottage and I’m sure you had a wonderful time at that tasting. Now I’m getting hungry. 🙂

    1. Ha ha, I had to move fast a couple of times, there were some big waves coming over, but anything for a good photo…well nearly 🙂 We had a lovely time at River Cottage but I left the menu behind, but never mind, it all tasted lovely. By the way we having a bit of snow, everyone is excited, but I think by morning it will be gone…..I hope so 🙂

Leave a Reply

