Sunday Roof Angel, St Edmund’s Church, Southwold, Suffolk (1)

dsc_0587

The beautiful 15th century Parish Church of Southwold in Suffolk is full of wonderful roof angels.  So I thought I would start a new Sunday theme of the many roof angels I have collected, and also it might make me post about the beautiful churches they residue in 🙂

What you are looking at, is a Seraphim Angel and they have six sets of feathered wings and are high up in the Choir of Angels.

I will add a photo of the roofs, you might see the same roof for a few of the angels, but it just gives you an idea of how beautiful they are.

dsc_0543-1 

8 comments

  1. I know St Edmunds and Southwold very well. One of our seaside holiday destinations one week every year for a decade or more in 1990s. By coincidence I’m currently, I’m reading The Huntingfield Paintress by Pamela Knowles. She’s just visited St Ed’s and means to copy the roof/angels for her own church.

    1. I’ve just googled the book and it sounds amazing, then I googled the church and its now on the list to visit. We visit Southwold a couple of times a year, although not in the height of summer, this time of the year is perfect 🙂

      1. I’m enjoying the book and Huntingfield is definitely on my ‘to visit’ list. Up to last year I’ve been taking mum for the day from Norwich to Southwold – November, February and July. She’s not up to it any more, sadly, we loved our bacon sarnies at Susie’s caff on most of our visits.

      2. I have bought the book on line, so hopefully it come in the next couple of days, can’t wait to read it. Ah Norwich, now that was a city of churches, sad to say not many open now, compare to how many there where…….still I do like shopping there 🙂

  2. I heartily endorse a series on roof angels! 🙂 This is really beautiful. Keeping that ceiling so nicely painted can’t be an easy job. I didn’t realize Seraphim had so many wings. Guess I need to do a little studying! 🙂

    1. Yes I thought it was time for another series, and I have so many, its a shame not to post them 🙂 I should think it takes a lot of money and work to look after the ceiling. Yes, Seraphim angels are just covered in wings 🙂

Leave a Reply

