Bruichladdich Distillery, Isle of Islay, Scotland

 

dsc_0578

Bruichladdich Distillery, on the Isle of Islay, in May 2016, the weather was getting progressively darker and a chilliness in the air, so a wee tasting of this whisky was something to look forward to. Β In all these distilleries, you can’t take photos of where they make the whisky, all hush, hush stuff……I know its terrible, but they do look all the same to me. Β But least I was starting to taste the difference in the whisky, peaty ones and not peaty….well just.

dsc_0579

Built in 1881 by the Harvey brothers, Bruichladdich Distillery sits opposite the western shore of Loch Indaal on Islay. The distillery produces three distinct single malts: Bruichladdich (unpeated), Port Charlotte (heavily peated) and Octomore (super heavily peated), along with The Botanist Gin.

15 comments

  1. Lynne, Did you explore any more of the island? or just ended up staying at the brewery? (smile) I always associate the island of Islay with Donovan’s beautiful poignant song about it. Do you know it?

      1. I was teasing you of course re: the brewery~ hope it is ok to share the Donovan song here as I have loved it since the first time I heard it in maybe 1969~ I know you will also like it and perhaps you will see Islay in your head when you listen to it. (by the by I went to see him this past Nov in concert~ a small theatre venue ~ a long time wish fulfilled~ I wish it had not taken so long but it was lovely none the less and he did not disappoint ..https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKzxYhT0KV0

      2. Thank you for the link Val, and yes I do remember it now. How wonderful to have seen him and that you were not disappointed, sometimes going back or seeing someone after a great length of time……is never quite the same, but glad yours was a wonderful experience πŸ™‚

      1. So pleased you remembered the song and hope it was one you also liked. Yes, it can be disappointing as you say to see a musician or even an actor after decades ~ often the voice is the first thing to go but over all I would say his performance was solid , probably not quite as strong when he was in his 20′ or 30’s but still very much worth listening to and his stories that accompanied the songs ~ I saw Robert Plant in Austin last year and he was brilliant! and anyone who says he has lost his mojo does not know what they are talking about or has been listening to his recent work. The place was packed and all ages~and if those young women in the front row in a frenzy were anything to judge his continued attraction for the female gender , I would say he still has that ability to charm as well as to sing~ he did a great mix of some classic Zep tunes along with his current stuff ~ he re-arranges things and shakes them up a bit. but they still have the same appeal now. For some ,age is just a number thank goodness.

  2. Ahhh, you know the way to this mans heart – Bruichladdich – beautiful. I’m loving these posts, well done to hubby for suggesting them. Islay malts are like marmite, you either like the peatiness or you don’t. Next time you’re passing get hubby to bring samples and I’ll give an honest opinion of each of them πŸ™‚

    1. Well he does have to have his little treats for driving me all over the UK. He likes the peaty ones, but not the really heavy ones. Ha ha I’m sure he would love to have a whisky tasting session with you and as we are going up to Inverness next week, I’m sure there will be some more πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you, I did get to like it in the end, the not so peaty ones are quite nice. I like to add it to coffee, not allowed to add single malt, I have the cheap blended, but it tastes ok πŸ™‚

      1. haha I totally understand! I’m not keen on whiskey either (stick to my vodka!) but my daughter brought a great selection of different whiskies last Christmas, which she and her Dad enjoyed πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

