Finlaggan Cross, Eileen Mòr, Isle of Islay, Scotland

 

dsc_0527-1

In between looking at distilleries on the Isle of Islay, Scotland, May 2016, I did manage to visit a few interesting sites and a visit to Finlaggan was a must.  Finlaggan is a historic site on Eilean Mòr in Loch Finlaggan, this was home to the Lords of the Isles.  A small island that you walk across a wooden causeway, to explore the ruins and some fine tomb slabs.  But that post is for later, when we were there, we visited the Finlaggan Visitor Centre, which is full of interesting items.  I had just taken a couple of photos and then suddenly, I saw a very large sign….No Photos Allow…oh well, I did stop, but I hate waste, so I will use the couple that I took…..  The information board will tell you about the cross, I think they were very lucky to find it, but it would have been amazing to see it in situ, maybe they should make a copy, but I suppose that would cost too much money.

dsc_0528

dsc_0473

4 comments

      1. Thank you and thats why I post them, I love to see other parts of the world, that I am never going to see in a million years. Not only places, but how people live and odd unusual things, oh and books, oh and quilts…..could go on and on 🙂 So I hope other people enjoy them, as much as I take them 🙂

Leave a Reply

