Deal Castle, Kent

The same day that we visited Richborough Roman Fort in 2015, we went to the seaside at Deal on the Kent coast.  On the sea front there sits Deal Castle, which was built by Henry VIII as a fort in 1539.  As I said in the last post, I had forgotten our English Heritage cards, so I just took a few photos of the exterior.  We have been meaning to go back, but that was two years ago, I thought I had better post these photos, to remind us to return.   

 There is a circular keep, 270 feet in diameter, surrounded by 6 circular bastions, and this is all enclosed by an outer wall which consists of 6 circular bastions. These outer bastions controlled access to the dry moat.  The battlements were added in the 18th century. In 1648 it was captured after a short siege by Parliament during the Civil War.  The Castle continued to be used as a defensive position until the end of the 19th century.

 

15 comments

      1. I hadn’t finished, this laptop has a mind of its own 🙂 If you google them you can read about them. I have always liked them as we had one in Old Portsmouth and we used to play in it as children. But this is the first one I have photographed 🙂

      2. That would explain why I haven’t seen them. Most of what I’ve seen has been here. 🙂 I shall explore further, thanks. 🙂

Leave a Reply

