Village Sign & Church, St Nicholas, Potter Heigham, Norfolk

 Potter Heigham (pronouced Potterham) in Norfolk has had a new village sign. a two sided one.  What is nice, is that the sign depicts two sides of the village and on both sides, the medieval bridge is shown.

Potter Heigham Bridge is a medieval bridge, believed to date from 1385, famous for being the most difficult to navigate in the Broads.  The bridge opening is so narrow that only small cruisers can pass through it, and then only at low water.  We have visited Potter Hingham many times, but I have never seen a boat going under the bridge, maybe one day.

The church is St Nicholas and has a 12th century round tower (which I still have to post about)  and the font is the only brick one in Norfolk.  It appears to be 15th century, there are banded details which have eroded, but may have been trefoils.  

The potters on the sign………The village was just simply named Heigham, but the extensive manufacture of Roman pottery taking place in the ‘Pothills’ area in the very northwestern corner of the parish.  By 1797 the village had become known as Potter Heigham, though the marshes retained the older Heigham Potter name.

Looking at the other side of the sign, which indicates Hickling Board, where you can fish, walk, cruise on the water and really enjoy the outdoor life.

10 comments

  1. I do like that font – not seen a brick one before.
    There used to be a good tackle shop in Potter Heigham.
    I’ve been over the old bridge a few times on my bike…which I take occasionally down to my parent’s when I visit – it’s nice to ride round the quieter roads thereabouts.

    1. No I haven’t seen a brick font before, but I have read there is another one in Suffolk, will have see if I can find it. It is a lovely area to live in and yes some of the road are still quiet, even in the height of the summer. I really want to see a boat go under the bridge, maybe one day 🙂

  2. Get busy for a few days and before I know it I have 9 lovely entries to catch up on! They were all lovely, but I think my favorite was the beach photos….I am a West Michigan lady and I love my beaches 🙂

  3. That bridge is certainly worthy of it’s prominent position on the sign. Lovely old thing. I guess if you have a larger boat you just have to go a different way. 🙂

    1. Pat, google the Norfolk Broads, because they were man made, by peat digging, many centuries ago and it will give you an idea of what they are 🙂 and yes there would be another way in, apart from this lovely old bridge 🙂

      1. Thanks for suggesting that, Lynne. Norfolk Broads have an interesting history. Amazing that they were made so long ago that it was forgotten that they weren’t natural. I saw a photo taken from the air towards the horizon that showed very well just how flat it is. I’m glad they’re preserving this unique landscape. It’s really incredible. 🙂

      2. We have been to stay near one of the boards over this weekend and they do make the most unique landscape….when truly they should not be there 🙂 Yes it was amazing that they thought they were natural, really interesting 🙂 Glad you looked them up, some times its a bit hard to explain something 🙂

Leave a Reply

