Over The Sea To Islay, Scotland

To continue on with our journey after visiting Tarbert, in 2016, we caught the ferry from Kennecraig to Port Askaig on the Isle of Islay off the west coast of Scotland.  The weather was perfect and it felt like a mini cruise, especially as we had a fish & chip supper on board.  We landed at Port Askaig and our hotel was a stones throw away from the terminal.  We settled in at the hotel and after exploring Port Askaig, which didn’t take long, we visited the bar of the hotel.  We had come to Islay and Jura, for the Whisky Festivals. So to get into the swing of it, we had a few drinks in the bar and got to met fellow Whiskey drinkers……they were quite of few……this is something that is taken very seriously, note books came out and drinks ticked off.  The next day we caught the ferry to Jura, on the smaller blue ferry you can see in the photos.  We were now on our way to Jura’s Whisky Festival and to explore this wild and rugged island…….more to follow.

 

 

16 comments

  1. The islands are so beautiful. I wouldn’t want to have to pronounce some of those names, though. That’s a nice self portrait. Have you lost some weight? 🙂

    1. Thank you Pat, I have lost a little, but I could do with losing a little bit more……but its just not happening at the moment 🙂 I have trouble with some of the names, I just keep having to say them until it sticks 🙂

  2. I must say the idea of people so devoted to trying the whiskys (or if you are American, craft beers) that they take notes is so appealing to me. I am not a drinker as I am close to too many alcoholics. But I do wish at times that I could indulge in just a taste now and again and have the warm fuzzies that a moderate amount of drink gives. Alas, perhaps you could have a sip for me….and thank you for your lovely habit of replying to us all. I’m sure I’m not the only one who is always glad that on top of taking the time to post, you answer us!

    1. I have to take a lot of water with my whisky or put it in coffee 🙂 I just drink a glass of wine some times with dinner, but not very often. But I will have a sip for you when we go up to Scotland on Thursday……. I also think it might have to warm us up as it’s going to be a little on the cold side. Never mind, its the rest we need 🙂 Also thank for you comment about my replying. If you are lovely enough to write a message and I really love getting them, then I really enjoy replying to them 🙂

  3. How fun !! Does it take several hrs on the ferry? One more question … oh the plate of food ..I probably could guess what all the foods were except the black round object.. what is it?!😀

    1. I think this trip was about 2 hrs, the little trip across to Jura was a about 15 minutes. Ah the black round object……is black pudding, (blood) normally pigs blood and it is wonderful, you fry it and eat hot. Some people love it, others hate it. You must have something similar 🙂

      1. We have liver sausage, which I think is the same thing, you can slice it and fry or just have it cold. No this is actuality made from the blood, and is sausage shape and again you slice it and fry it and its yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

