Being A Tourist – Isle of Skye, Scotland

We are back from our Scottish holiday…..this was definitely a holiday of two parts.  One of sunshine and one of rain…..lots of rain and mist.  We didn’t get to visit some of the islands that we wanted to explore, because we had some nasty storms that stopped the ferries from sailing.  Although we did get to visit Gigha, an island off the west coast of Kintyre, on one of the rare sunny days.  I also managed to get two new Stevenson Lighthouses for my collection, I even climbed 140 steps to the top of one.  A few castles and churches, but most of the time, just trying to keep the camera dry.  Luckily the last two days before we left for home, were beautiful, you then forget about the rain and mist…..well nearly.  We went to the Isle of Skye on one of the days, and this is just one of the photos I took from the car window on a round the island trip.  

I did have trouble with my laptop, hence no posts, but its ok now and I just have to sort the photos out,  but as always, its nice to be home 🙂

May 2017

 

20 comments

  1. Scotland is so beautiful even when the weather doesn’t cooperate. I would love to visit someday. I am in the middle of reading Peter May’s Lewis Trilogy and his landscape descriptions are amazing. Looking forward to more pictures!

    1. Yes, you are right it is beautiful in any weather, the only problem is the mist, you can’t see anything 🙂 Glad you are enjoying Peter May’s Lewis Books, the Outer Hebrides are wonderful islands to visit, maybe you will one day 🙂

  2. Good to hear from you again! I’m sure you managed to bring home loads of pictures in spite of the rain. Now you’ll have to rest up from your vacation. 🙂

    1. Ha ha, I did bring back loads of photos, but at the moment I am having to sort some old ones, before I can add all the new ones. Funnily enough Steve said he was looking forward to coming home to have a rest…..really can’t understand 🙂 🙂 But it is nice to be home 🙂

  3. I always think that Scotland is one of the most beautiful places on this earth and rivals some of the places I’ve been…if it weren’t for the awful weather

    1. Ah, but when it is sunny, it is the most amazing place to be. First time out of many years, that we had bad weather, but we did get some beautiful days, so that made up for the bad 🙂

  4. I was wondering where you were – and I come to look and you are back again! 🙂
    Sorry to hear about the rain but hope you had a good holiday regardless.
    Looking forward to many photos. 🙂

    1. Thank you, we did have a good time, even though it rained a lot, but then we had a few days of beautiful sunshine, we makes it worth it. I had trouble with my laptop, so had a blog holiday as well, ha ha nearly forgot how it all worked, but it all came rushing back 🙂

      1. Glad you got a little sunshine! 🙂
        haha I also find that when I’ve had a break! I’ve got a 5 week break coming up, so no doubt I’ll forget Everything! 😀

Leave a Reply

