Ornsay Lighthouse 1857, Isle of Skye, Scotland

This lighthouse was a lovey surprise, we were on Skye last week, May 2017, an island off the west coast of Scotland, on the Sleat Peninsular, the garden of Skye, looking for a Whiskey Shop.  Visiting Whiskey shops and distilleries are a reward for my husband, for driving me everywhere, so I can take photos from the car…… but having visited so many now, I quite like the taste and some times it works in my favour.  This time is really did, as we were coming out of the shop, I noticed in the distance a lighthouse on a small island.  We drove as near as we could, but it was still quite a distance, but I managed to get some shots of another ‘Stevenson Lighthouse’ for my collection.  What I found amazing, is that they are always in the most wonderful locations and some in the most amazing places, far out at sea on a small rock, not sure that I will get to visit many of those.

What we had been looking at was ‘Ornsay Lighthouse’ on the islet of Eilean Sionnach, off the tidal island of Ornsay.  The lighthouse cottages were once owned by the author Gavin Maxwell of ‘Ring of Bright Water’ fame and the lighthouse was built in 1857 by Thomas and David Stevenson, it is a masonry tower with gallery, lantern and keeper’s house. The apparatus installed entered in service on 10 November 1857 and became automated in 1962.

May 2017

 

 

11 comments

  1. Congratulations! That is certainly a remote and beautiful location. Perhaps the Stevensons prefered that kind of location. 🙂

    1. Thank you Pat, but come to think of it, the whole of the west coast is beautiful, so they couldn’t go wrong really. There are lots on the east coast for me to explore later 🙂

  2. What a stunning and beautiful landscape!!
    I was in the UK a few years ago but never made it to Scotland sadly!
    these make me want to go back!

    1. Ha ha, I have mastered that one, he gets a small sip, I get the rest, with plenty of water….but he gets a bottle to take home 🙂 The mountains are really beautiful on a lovely sunny day 🙂

Leave a Reply

