Talisker Distillery, Carbost, Isle of Skye, Scotland

This was our second visit to Talisker Distillery on the Isle of Skye, May 2017.  Unfortunately or fortunately in my husband eyes, was the fact that had I lost my photos of five years ago, and I wanted to revisit to take more for my ‘Whisky Distilleries Category’.  So he was quite happy to stop on our road trip of the Island, so I could retake photos, but this time there were quite a few visitors, many more than before.  Whisky is now making quite a comeback and you would be amazed at the amount of different languages that you hear……its good for Scotland, especially for the islands, as it means work, in fact there are three brand new distilleries that I heard about, that have been built recently.  We did visit one which I will post about later, but back to our visit of Talisker.

A little history for you …….Talisker’s founders, brothers Hugh and Kenneth MacAskill were classic Clearance landlords. Having bought the rent of Talisker House on Skye and extensive lands in 1825, they set about forcibly shifting the resident population from their farms, either to new settlements at Carbost and Portnalong on the shores of Loch Harport and Portnalong, or off the island entirely.  In 1830, they opened their Talisker distillery in Carbost using the cleared populace as its workforce. Their venture into whisky-making was not a success and by 1848 the bank was in control. For the next three decades Talisker stumbled through a series of other owners who found it hard to keep afloat a distillery which is remote even by 21st century standards.  In 1880, Talisker’s fortunes changed when Roderick Kemp and Alexander Allen bought the distillery and proceeded to expand the site and construct a distillery pier – until then all the casks had to be floated out to waiting ships.  Eventually after many years a grouping of major blender morphed into Diageo.  In 1960, the distillery burned down and was silent until 1962 while it was being rebuilt, in to what you see now.  

May 2017

 

9 comments

  1. I’d have to say the MacAskills got what they deserved. I suppose the world was different and that was a common practise. There are many good reasons to be living in this day and age. 🙂 I really do have to read up on whisky. I don’t think scotch whisky is the same as what we call scotch here and I have no idea what single malt means. My education is sadly lacking. I don’t think I ever paid much attention to the label on the bottle. 🙂

    1. I have to agree with you, the clearances were a cruel act and lots of families left Scotland, so yes they did get what they deserved. Mind you it was not only them, nearly every landowner did it. Anyway the only thing I can tell you about malt whisky its just a single whisky on its own, you can get blended ones, more single ones put together. I think you need to google, as to the difference of Scotch, maybe Bourbon and Scottish Whiskys, as Steve says he cannot really explain, its far too complicated, ha ha 🙂

  2. Great post! I’m actually visiting the Talisker Distillery in early September this year for the first time. I’m incredibly excited! Would you be able to share some Must Do’s while I’m there? Also, do you have to book in advance for a distillery tour?

    1. Thank you, you will have a great time, but you must book for a tour, they get so busy. If you want some ideas for must do’s on the island, its best to google and there is ton of interesting things to visit and do. Anyway have a great time when you visit 🙂 Lynne

Leave a Reply

