Snakes Alive

This is not my normal type of photo, but it is, the day that I came to like a snake.  We were at a country fair somewhere in the county of Rutland in June 2016, and there was the normal type of things like tractors and sheep dogs etc, but there was also the snake man, no ….not really…. but thats what I called him.  We walked into a tent and there was the snake coiled around the keepers neck, I have no idea what type of snake it was  but the colours were beautiful…. I was seeing the snake through the lens of a camera in my mind, it was beautiful.  I knew I wanted to catch the snakes forked tongue darting out, but it was so quick, but then I got my photo (the last photo on the post)……look at the pattern on the scales, it looks like a row of pointy teeth, just like the real thing.  I was just really pleased that the photos came out ok, of course if I had come across the snake in the long grass….it was have been a totally different story.  I also thought it was a good one for my Occupation Category, Wildlife Keeper.

14 comments

  1. I think that’s some kind of constrictor. They can be quite friendly. And as long as they get regular meals they won’t try to eat any dogs. 🙂 Great pictures!

    1. Ha ha, I knew you wouldn’t be over fond of it 🙂 but I’m off to look up a carpet python and just thank goodness I won’t find any on my carpets 🙂

Leave a Reply

