Ardrishaig Lighthouse, Loch Fyne, Scotland

I am having a grand sort out of photos, I think we all do it each year and in doing so, I have come across some lighthouses that I have failed to post about, which is quite nice, as I have a thing about them now.   My all time favourites are the Stevenson Lighthouses, but the others have started to creep in, and now it’s any lighthouse.  When we are in Scotland, we like to drive along Loch Fyne and I have taken quite a few photos of Ardrishaig Lighthouse which is located at the eastern entrance to the Crinan Canal on the Loch.

The lighthouse appears to date from the early 1900s and is at least the second to stand on this site, but details are not forth coming, so I have no idea who built the lighthouse.

A little history of the Canal……..The Crinan Canal, 14.5 km (9 miles) long, connects the village of Crinan on the Sound of Jura with Ardrishaig on Loch Gilp.  Crossing the base of the long Kintyre peninsula, it provides small craft with a shortcut between the Hebrides and the Clyde, eliminating a long trip around the Mull of Kintyre. Opened in 1801, the historic canal has a depth of only 3 m (10 ft) but no height restriction.

Photos taken in 2016.

9 comments

  1. I have a thing for lighthouses – there is something that draws me to them. This one has that same mysterious scene going on. Thanks for sharing lovely pictures and the history as well.

  2. Once again you have included the history which is so interesting to me. It’s very cool to ponder the thought that the canal was built before my ancestor came to the US and was very likely a topic of conversation around the table since his family was from the area. Wonderful post.

    1. Thank you Carla, glad you enjoyed it. I wonder if they did have a conversation, I expect they did, as it would have been a wonderful achievement 🙂 Lynne

Leave a Reply

