The Church of St Edmund, King & Martyr, Southwold, Suffolk – The Interior

Scroll down to content

This is the last post on St Edmund in Southwold, Suffolk and we are finishing with photos of the interior, also a few of the exterior.  This is such a beautiful church, I didn’t want to rush it, I want people to linger and look, not rush in, look and then leave a few minutes later……

The parish church of Southwold is dedicated to St Edmund and is considered to be one of Suffolk’s finest. It lies under one continuous roof, and was built over about 60 years from the 1430s to the 1490s.   It replaced a smaller 13th-century church that was destroyed by fire. The earlier church dated from the time when Southwold was a small fishing hamlet adjacent to the larger Reydon.   By the 15th century Southwold was an important town in its own right, and the church was rebuilt to match its power and wealth.  

12 Replies to “The Church of St Edmund, King & Martyr, Southwold, Suffolk – The Interior”

  1. I must say, I love all the photos you do. I find them interesting mainly because I will never be at any of these places myself. Your photos take me there. Thanks ever so much, … don

    1. Thank you so much Don, I think thats why I take so many photos, it’s to try and make you feel like you are there…….its lovely to know its hopefully working, also I love taking them 🙂 Lynne

  2. I visited the other posts on the Church of St Edmunds yesterday and this one is a fitting conclusion. The photos are amazing, both inside and out, and such lovely colours too. I love that you also add some history. I could almost be there with you. An excellent series.

    1. Thank you, so glad you enjoyed the visit, I just though it was just too beautiful to do in one post, then I got carried away, but I enjoyed it. I just want people to see what wonderful buildings they are in their own right, but luckily you know this 🙂

  3. Really great. I wish sometimes to just sit and look and get fascinated by all that one can miss when moving too quickly. I am glad the smaller less crowded churches get people like you in to show off their fine and distinct craftsmanship.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.