Ardbeg Distillery, Isle of Islay, Scotland

Scroll down to content

dsc_0275

Ardbeg was the last whisky distillery that we visited on Islay in 2016, and I must admit, I went a bit over board on the photos, its a very photogenic place. Using malted barley sourced from the maltings at Port Ellen, Ardbeg claims to produce the peatiest whisky in Islay, so of course my husband really enjoyed his tastings…..he had mine as well.

Ardbeg lies solitary, in a small cove off the south coast of Islay. It was once a stage for illegal distillation, when smugglers took advantage of the remote location and exceptional conditions for whisky production. Eventually, excise men seized the original, illegitimate buildings from the smugglers and destroyed them. It was not until 1815 that a legal distillery was established and founded by John McDougall. Sitting nearby leviathan distilleries; Laphroaig and Lagavulin, Ardbeg has always produced a very sought-after single malt, despite its production scale being less than half that of its neighbours.

dsc_0244

8 Replies to “Ardbeg Distillery, Isle of Islay, Scotland”

  1. I think I’ve made my mind up where I’m going to retire to 🙂 The Malt Store door looks like it had a cat flap at one time – no doubt to control the mice – oh yum Malt infused meat.

  2. Oh my,just look at those barrel chairs! Bet you really like the one with the young man in the pink shirt.;) flowers are so lovely

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.