Edgartown Lighthouse, Martha’s Vineyard, USA

Scroll down to content

 

We have just come back from a lovely holiday on the west coast of Scotland, but as always, I took far too many photos.  So while I sort through them, I thought I would carry on with my lighthouse category.  When we were on holiday last year 2015. we saw this one from our hotel window in Edgartown.

One of five lighthouses on Martha’s Vineyard, Edgartown Harbour Light, was built in 1939 replacing an earlier one of 1828.

 

 

 

6 Replies to “Edgartown Lighthouse, Martha’s Vineyard, USA”

  1. Beautiful place! I was in AI DuPont hospital with my youngest daughter,who had hip surgery, when John F Kenndy Jr crashed with his wife and sister in law when headed for the island. I remember it’s breaking news.

  2. Of lovely memories, my daughter and son-in-law were married on the porch of that hotel, overlooking the lighthouse. By the way, they moved the Gay Head lighthouse on Martha’s Vineyard this year to keep it from being swept away by the ocean and the crumbling cliffs.

    1. Oh how wonderful, we stayed in the hotel, such a beautiful building. that must have been a beautiful wedding 🙂 I was going to post about the Gay Head tonight, but I did one on a body stone instead. Thats interesting that they moved it, it was fenced off when we saw it last year. I will google it and have a look, thanks for the info and I’m glad the photos bought back happy memories 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.