Bluebells, Scotland

Today we visited the City of Birmingham, in the West Midlands,  We had to have some work carried out on the car, and as I have never been to the centre of Birmingham before, I grabbed the chance to knock  the Cathedral off my bucket list.  I must admit I was pleasantly surprised, we went to the Bullring to see St Martin’s Church and also the Famous Rag Market, were I took loads of photos.  We then had lunch, and then went in search of the Cathedral, with it’s wonderful Victorian stained glass windows.  Again I took loads of photos……I will someday get around to posting them, but what really prompted this post, were all the single and little groups of struggling bluebells that I saw.  They were poking out between wire fences, anywhere they could grow and just a glimpse of their blue, reminded me of the beautiful ones in Scotland that we see in May each year on holiday.  So I found some from last year 2016 and I think a little periwinkle, but I could be wrong about that…….

April 2017

18 comments

  1. I half expected you to quote the traditional Scottish tune “The Bluebells of Scotland” (the words begin “Where, and oh where has my highland laddie gone?”). Anyway, looks like a good year for bluebells and, as I saw in Suffolk last week, cowslips.

    1. Ha ha, yes, I missed a chance there, I think this year we have had an abundance of wild flowers. The snowdrops this year were amazing in Norfolk, so I’m guessing they were in the rest of the country 🙂 Ha ha my husband has just shown me the weather forecast for tonight, moderate to heavy snow 🙂

  2. I love seeing your bluebells! They are a little different from our Virginia bluebells. Our wildflowers have been going crazy this year. Right now besides bluebells we have violets, pinks, trilliums, bloodroot and mayapples. Spring is definitely my favorite season. Of course, like you we could still get some snow. Hope yours was light and will melt quickly. 🙂

    1. So glad you enjoyed them 🙂 The snow missed us, it was further down, thank goodness, but it has been very cold wind, which has come from Norway, via the North Pole haha, true 🙂 Well I know what violets, pink and trilliums are, but mayapples and bloodroot, I’m will have to look them up 🙂

  3. No snow here or cold weather, as a matter of fact .. I think we are in for a hot summer!!😕 Love those blue bells . Whenever I hear of blue bells it take me back to jump rope days ,when my friends and I would chant ” blue bells ,cocker shells ” as we jumped.

    1. Glad you like them 🙂 If you are in for a hot one, please can you send some over in about 2 weeks for our holiday in Scotland….pretty please 🙂 What is amazing is that we used to jump rope and sing the same ‘blue bells, cocker shells’, I had forgotten that 🙂

    1. Thank you, but the photos are actually of Scotland, the bluebells in Birmingham reminded me of the ones in Scotland, which are the ones in the photos. But anyway glad you like them 🙂

Leave a Reply

