A Shimmering St Michael

Scroll down to content

DSC_0862

This lovely golden St Michael stands next to St George in a wonderful stained glass window in St Mary & St Nicholas Church in Beaumaris on the Isle of Anglesey, Wales.  I have already posted St George and I thought I should post St Michael as he was making me feel very guilty for only doing only one post of him.

St Michael is the leader of the Archangels and his name in Hebrew ‘Who is like God’  He was one of the guardians of the people of Israel and was therefore assumed also to be the protector of the Church.  He is often seen carrying scales with souls balanced on them and it is thought he can save people from hell in keeping from his position in heaven.

Although St Michael and St George both kill dragons, St Michael is winged and St George has his badge of a red cross and often riding a horse.  Sometimes I do have trouble working out who is who as it’s not always that clear and I have yet to see St George on a horse, looking forward to that.

4 Replies to “A Shimmering St Michael”

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.