Standing Stones – Isle of Lismore, Scotland

DSC_0909

While we were on the Isle of Lismore on holiday in May 2016, I found these standing stones at the side of the minor road to Achinduin and Achadun Castle.  I have tried to find some information about them, but they are not mark on a map and it is possible that they are just some kind of rocks used as boundary markers.  They are not small, ranging about 1.5 to 2 metres in height.  I just found their shapes really interesting and it was just strange to come across them all of a sudden by the road edge.  Any ideas are welcome 🙂

DSC_0903

DSC_0902

16 comments

      1. Good chance it’s even older! Although it’s really rough, not worn smooth. But that would be affected by the hardness of the rock. If it’s very hard it would take a very long time wear down. Ages and ages! 🙂

      2. I’d go nuts with all that rock! I really love it. Most of what we have here in northern Illinois is gravel left behind when the glaciers melted. Although you can find some interesting stones in a gravel pile, It takes some hunting. 🙂

    1. Its really strange that they are just along the road, there must be a reason, they are big stones…..but then there are some odd shape stones around that area 🙂

      1. Yes – one of them (the tallest) certainly doesn’t look naturally placed! It might be worth sending the pics to the RCAHMS. They’re not on their database, as far as I could see.

      2. I’m just wondering if there are anymore, I wasn’t really looking for standing stones and also wasn’t quite with it. We are going back next year so I will have another look and if you get there before me you can look 🙂 Jo I hate to say it but what is RCAHMS 🙂

      3. Oh, sorry Lynne! It is the Royal Commission on the Ancient & Historical Monuments of Scotland. They have a database of sites called ‘Canmore’ and it is searchable, with interactive maps. https://canmore.org.uk/ If you go to ‘Contact’ at the bottom and then ‘General Enquiry Form’, you could send an enquiry about the stones and attach a pic if you like. I have done this myself with things I’ve found, and they have been helpful, although you may have to wait a while for a reply. Worth a try! 🙂

      4. Thanks Jo, I will have a look, it sounds really interesting….problem is I have come late to the stones, but better late than never 🙂

Leave a Reply

